Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | First Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   New to Pro Tools First, asking for help (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=409556)

csavasatit 04-14-2020 05:48 PM

New to Pro Tools First, asking for help
 
Hello All,

I have been watching the tutorials. But I still have some questions.

1. I'm using a PC. If my singer recorded vocal tracks on GarageBand on a Mac, would I be able to export into a Pro tools project and record drums and guitar to it?

2. Once I save a project, is there a way for me to email it out to another bandmate? I don't see an option.

3. Lastly, when watching the Tutorials, I see he was able to choose a different amp model for his guitar sound. Are the amp models and guitar tones limited in the free download?

Thanks

Brodsky 04-14-2020 07:28 PM

Re: New to Pro Tools First, asking for help
 
1. This is definitely possible. All you would need to do is have your artist bounce their tracks as a .wav or .mp3. You can then import these files into Pro Tools. I personally prefer they bounce with no plugins on their tracks so I can mix it, but tracks with processing included could be a good reference mix if you're mixing the vocals if they don't know how to. When recording your drum and guitar track be mindful of the bpm they used in their DAW when recording. There will be rhythm issues if you record your instruments on a different tempo than they were using.
2. There are two ways to do this: Create your session as a Project, this will save it on your Avid Master account and can be accessed from any computer running Pro Tools that is signed in to your account. The other way to do this would be to find the disk location of your session on your hard drive and compress the folder containing your session file, wavecache and session backups to a .zip and email it.
3. Pro Tools First is very limited as compared to other versions of Pro Tools. Consider it a Lite version. I don't know what specifically you are referring to but having Pro Tools Ultimate vs. Pro Tools First is a big difference in content.

I hope this satisfies your questions.

csavasatit 04-15-2020 06:54 AM

Re: New to Pro Tools First, asking for help
 
Thank you Brodsky.

With number 3. I deleted the Lead Guitar in the mixing window, with the intention of playing the lead. When i was trying to select the Plug In, I clicked on Avid, which gave me a lot of instrument choices to choose, but not a lot of guitar amp models.

When watching the tutorial, when he was choosing guitar tones for his lead, he had a ton of options to choose from.

I would imagine if I paid for the subscription, there would be more choices. I just wanted to confirm.

Thanks again


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com