Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   PT licensing confusion/question (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=293737)

Bender412 02-02-2011 06:45 PM

PT licensing confusion/question

I'm a little confused ...

I have an HD|3 with PTHD8. I bought the hardware used (no transfer of ownership), and the PTHD8 license from a seller on Ebay. I've been running this system for almost 2 years.

Last year, I purchased Digi's MassivePak8 from Sweetwater. At the time of purchase, they asked for my core card's serial number. I gave it to them, and the sale went through with no problem, even thought the card is obviously not registered to me.

So, CAN I purchase and install the PTHD9 upgrade for $350 or not? At what point is the core card serial # required - during purchase or during install?

I was under the impression that I could purchase the upgrade online, and that the installation would see the valid HD8 license on my iLok, detect my hardware, and proceed. Am I mistaken about that?

Thanks!

OddsAre 02-02-2011 09:37 PM

Re: PT licensing confusion/question

On the LE side of things, I was asked for the serial number to my Digi002 after the purchase and before the download. My guess is that you will have no problem, unless the person you bought it from kept the serial number on file and used it recently to purchase PT9 for themselves. I assume they keep track of it that way... but that is pure speculation on my part.

HD2 02-02-2011 10:12 PM

I think the OddsAre probably right.

Bender412 02-02-2011 10:15 PM

Hmm that's helpful, but I hope I can find out definitively, cause it would suck if I purchase the upgrade, then run into a snag with the serial number when trying to download!

crizdee 02-03-2011 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bender412 (Post 1746757)