Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2021 (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   2021.3 constant hangs (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=414699)

huzzam 03-26-2021 02:53 AM

2021.3 constant hangs
 
Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.

huzzam 03-26-2021 07:02 AM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
FYI I rolled back to 2020.12 and the problem has disappeared. No one else is noticing this issue?

Southsidemusic 03-26-2021 07:26 AM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Nope runs great here PTU 2021.3. No hangs or issues and we run 200+ track songs with many VI and automation althoguh barely no plugins as we use hardware. We do have melodyne 5 and some guitar cabs from UHE and a few soothe2 tracks and thats about it. VI tracks are many (30-40) and some bounced in place but still atleast 30-40 VI tracks with synths and guitar stuff.

off the wall 03-26-2021 07:42 AM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by huzzam (Post 2597489)
Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.

No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.

grayter1 03-26-2021 07:44 AM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Running super solid here. Specs in sig. Current session has several heavy VI's - Omnisphere, Keyscape and Pigments. All running fine at a buffer size of 128. I could be running at 64, but I don't see the need atm.

No issues here.

tg

huzzam 03-26-2021 09:18 AM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by off the wall (Post 2597525)
No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.


No discrete GPU, just the integrated graphics of the i9, uhd630. But anyway, it's a permanent hang, requiring a force quit. Usually graphics issues seem to last just a few seconds.

Interesting that it's just me, though. When I get through this bit of work I'll try again and do more troubleshooting. Luckily 2020.12 is rock solid for me... and I'm way back on Mojave (thanks to two 32-bit apps I continue to need), so no hurry to upgrade.

Obsidian Dragon 03-26-2021 12:49 PM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Perhaps try moving plugins to unused folder and try again. If things run smoothly, start moving the plugins in back one at a time and test to see if a particular plugin is causing the problem. It is a tedious process, but so often plugins are the cause of issues.

huzzam 03-26-2021 01:34 PM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon (Post 2597589)
Perhaps try moving plugins to unused folder and try again. If things run smoothly, start moving the plugins in back one at a time and test to see if a particular plugin is causing the problem. It is a tedious process, but so often plugins are the cause of issues.


yep thanks :) i know the drill... i *also* know the drill about not upgrading when you're in the middle of a project, but i did it anyway :eek:


will report back here in a few weeks, once the current project is done. always appreciated, señor dragón!

Becharax 03-26-2021 01:53 PM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
okay I am getting those freezes .... especially when I open UAD console 2 and arm record a track in Pro Tools .... for no apparent reason ... is it a bug ?

Becharax 03-26-2021 01:54 PM

Re: 2021.3 constant hangs
 
is it possible to revert back by just installing 2020.12 or should I uninstall 2021.3 first ?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com