Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=135)
-   -   Workflow with Assistant Eng (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403778)

bleachbro 03-16-2019 09:41 PM

Workflow with Assistant Eng
 
South side of control room:
I have S3, Dock and iPad controlling PT Ultimate on OS X Sierra.

North side of control room:
I have an assistant (A2) and a C|24 which still works great. (We also use it for line mixing our slates, listen, and talkbacks.)

Currently during tracking, I disable EuControl, enable ethernet for C-24 so A2 can mix F, G, and H sends for our 3 headphone cues. My dream is to have the S3 active at the same time as the C|24, but that will never happen, I'm told.

Are there any alternative options? A HUI controller perhaps for A2? Tried this with V-Control/iPad as a test - but many limitations - e.g. can't see the track names clearly (only 4 char), can't access Sends F-J, and very touchy performance - not really usable during game time. I suppose that rules out Slate Mti2 as well? Any one ever try an S3 and a Raven? Or any other HUI device with success for F-J sends with simultaneous EuControl device?

I thought maybe 2 S3's... but nope - not allowed.

So it appears that if I want A2 to work with me, I have to forget the idea that I could also use my S3 rig during tracking.

Am I missing something? Is there anyone that can relate to this workflow that has solved it?

Things I don't know: S6 - would it offer this dual engineer functionality?
Is there some other clever or third party way to make this happen?

Thank you in advance!

reichman 03-17-2019 10:33 AM

Re: Workflow with Assistant Eng
 
Maybe try pulling the iPad off the Dock and giving it to the assistant. The iPad faders can move and bank independently of the S3 if you use layouts on the S3. You also get access to the sends on the iPad. As long as you don't attention a track on the S3, they should run pretty independently.

bleachbro 03-17-2019 12:20 PM

Re: Workflow with Assistant Eng
 
Thank you, Nathaniel. I thought about that - only downside is one send at a time from channel page... is that correct?

reichman 03-17-2019 12:58 PM

Re: Workflow with Assistant Eng
 
Not in front of it, but pretty sure the channel view allows 8 sends per channel with all 8 on the knobs. And for speed, you can just swipe levels up on the iPad screen.

bleachbro 03-17-2019 01:11 PM

Re: Workflow with Assistant Eng
 
Yes... multiple sends in channel view, but only one channel at a time.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com