Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   I would like to see Tempo Randomization (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=418729)

sleshnyc@gmail.com 01-25-2022 11:27 AM

I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
I think it would be cool to have a function that can randomize tempo, to give things a more human feel. Let's say we want a tempo of 80. Can tell protools to randomize it between 79-81, with other parameters to control maximum jump, frequency, etc. Especially with things like superior drummer and other virtual instruments, this could be useful. Or not.

massivekerry 01-25-2022 12:22 PM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
The problem with this idea, in practice, is that a lot of tempo-sync plugins (VIs and signal processing) currently suffer from major CPU spikes when they have to recalculate their playback or processing when you change tempos. This becomes far worse if you program a tempo "ramp" or jump around a lot in a short time period. It's not just Pro Tools. I have colleagues who have issues with it on Logic and Cubase as well. For reference, a lot of these are media-scoring composers, who either need to vary tempo to make video-specific hits (or conforming to a changed video) naturally. A lot of the NI-branded Kontakt instruments will freak out with a big tempo change (or many close together). Multiply that by however many tracks the operator is working with... it just becomes a math and processing problem. I don't know if Avid can add that feature on its own, especially with all of the different processors, platforms, plugins and configurations it has to support. For drums, I suggest just randomizing or swinging MIDI patterns if you want a more "natural" feel. Maybe change tempo in different "song" sections, or do a specific ramp for effect, but you have to be aware of the potential performance trade-offs.

Extreme Mixing 01-25-2022 08:45 PM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
Also, you don't have to quantize to 100%. Try a smaller number. Or you could add a bit of swing. I don't see how a random shift of the tempo would be helpful at all. As a player you can push or pull the tempo. How would random help you out? I just don't see it being worth spending any time on this.

Steve

Robruce 01-25-2022 11:11 PM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sleshnyc@gmail.com (Post 2626459)
I think it would be cool to have a function that can randomize temp......Especially with things like superior drummer and other virtual instrument

Having PT randomize tempo could be interesting for some, not here though.

You might just create a conductor track and visually alter the tempos to emulate typical tempo fluctuations of living musicians.

Typically one might set the choruses a bit faster etc., then use some intuition as to which sections benefit from their own tempo from there.

If you're dragging SD's patterns into PT they'll comply to those tempo adjustments.

If you're programming your own patterns tapped out on some device and voiced through SD, do the above tempo adjustments but also set "Input Quantize" to randomize your performance a touch. BTW 1/16th works best for most grooves/parts here. hth

ps- using something other than your email address as your screen name here, or anywhere similar, is advised.

sleshnyc@gmail.com 01-26-2022 03:44 AM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
Thanks. I get all that. Iím very hip to quantize swing and tempo mapping. Iím just talking about incorporating real human feel which is that little back and forth we do. But good points made about instruments and plugins that follow tempo. Probably a brain drain.

noah330 01-26-2022 01:13 PM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
Recently up I had to recreate a well known track for a film. They wanted the timing to be exactly the same as the original but didnít want to pay the huge licensing fee for the original version.

I just made a tempo map from the original tune and recorded everything from that being the click. Iíll do the same thing if a live drum track is a little off.

Rich Breen 01-27-2022 07:29 AM

Re: I would like to see Tempo Randomization
 
I believe you could achieve this by taking a straight 1/4 note click or midi track, 'randomize' it with the Quantize operations window, then use Beat Detective to build a tempo map based on this randomized 1/4 note track. Haven't done it, but I don't see why it wouldn't work. OTOH, most people I know who are trying to 'humanize' tempo feel build click tracks that speed up and slow down according to the song structure - this makes more sense to me.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com