Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Digi 002 - Can't Monitor Input (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=299995)

ragingcortez 04-27-2011 01:47 PM

Digi 002 - Can't Monitor Input
 
I'm accustomed to the MBox 2 and before that the M Audio Mobile Pre. Both of these enable you to hear, say, a microphone plugged into an input, without any software manipulation.

Now I have the Digi 002 and I can hear playback from Pro Tools and Garageband sessions. I can see the input signal on Garageband but only hear it if I turn monitoring on in the application, and even then it's echo-y. I can't see it nor hear it in Pro Tools.

While I'm at it --- I sometimes play iTunes through the speakers attached to my MBox 2, however I can't seem to get iTunes to play through the Digi 002. I change the output in system preferences but it does nothing, so any insight on that would also be appreciated. Thanks

The Dougfather 04-28-2011 04:09 AM

Re: Digi 002 - Can't Monitor Input
 
No hardware monitoring on the 002 so as you've found out you won't here anything until you record enable a track, it makes sense because if you were pulling in 18 tracks and only had one mix knob it would be a mess. This method is far better IMHO because the tweaks you make in Pro tools, level, pan etc are then audible during recording.

In Pro Tools you have low latency monitoring and you can easily get the HW buffer down to 64 samples. You will need to go to the garageband audio prefs and reduce the hardware buffer as low as you can to lose the delay, then increase it when it comes to mixing/adding plugins etc.

ragingcortez 04-28-2011 07:44 AM

Re: Digi 002 - Can't Monitor Input
 
Thank You! for your clear and concise response. And though it's not what I'm accustomed to, I see what you're saying about multiple inputs - though each input gain kind of takes care of that too. But either way I'm glad to know I'm not missing something. Cheers!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:58 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com