Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Stupid stupid question but I need to know (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=301766)

chicken 05-28-2011 01:23 AM

Stupid stupid question but I need to know
 
Have a digi 003 control surface and I link 8 analog outputs to a studer 169. Excellent!
But now, I would like to link 12 outputs to the studer mixing desk:
*8 adat outputs --> apogee 16 da --> 8 analog inputs on the studer mixing desk
*4 analog outputs of the digi 003 --> 4 analog inputs of the studer mixing desk

Q1: will I face phasing issues because of delay issues between the digi 003 adat to analog outputs and digi 003 analog outputs?
Q2: if so, how can I compensate?
Q3: is there a way to get 10 analog outputs on the digi 003?

Tx,
Chicken

chicken 05-28-2011 05:27 AM

Re: Stupid stupid question but I need to know
 
Anyone?
Thank you

albee1952 05-28-2011 08:48 AM

Re: Stupid stupid question but I need to know
 
Q1-maybe(depends entirely on the converter delay). you will need to pass the same signal thru both paths and listen to the result.

Q2-not sure, other than adding a master for the paths that are early and adding a delay plugin to those masters to compensate. Once you figure out the correct amount of time, you won't need to calculate every time.

Q3-yes, if you get a SPDIF D>A converter(which may suffer the same phase issue as Q1). This can even operate at 96K if you are not using the ADAT paths(which top out at 48K).


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com