Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   > PT 8 Intermittent, Erratic Audio Timing (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=241177)

Howardk 03-09-2009 06:14 PM

> PT 8 Intermittent, Erratic Audio Timing

Just completing the final mix tweaks with a client, and it is my first Project to complete with ProTools 8. I open a song that sounded fine yesterday and today the timing of the drum tracks is all over the map (even the stick hit count in sounds flammed) and a vocal is playing thru a snare drum track. Close Protools and restart Mac from start and same issue. Delete the Digidesign Database Folders and Volumes Folder, restart and all is ok. Print Mix, go audition elsewhere, come back and reopen the session to do another tweak, same problem, Delete the folders, ok again. Very unnerving when it is the final stages of a mix with a deadline and I am flying out of town in days.

It has been fine on 6 of 7 songs for this EP. . . BTW, the drums are edited with Elastic Time.

I did a search and did not see any similar posts. Did I miss a memo?

Current Config
==========
PT 8 cs2
OS X 10.5.6
Mac Pro Quad 2.66
4 GB Ram
eSata Drive
2 x 192 i/o + Adat bridge/24
Too many plugins to list.

Howardk 03-11-2009 11:28 PM

Re: > PT 8 Intermittent, Erratic Audio Timing

Had this happen on a fresh session that was created from scratch in PT 8 cs 2 today. Session did not exhibit the problem while working with it tracking drums. Opened it later in the night to complete the edit of the earlier work (EA again) and the tracks were messed up, playing significantly out of time. I did not have time to work thru it further. . .

Premo 03-11-2009 11:46 PM

Re: > PT 8 Intermittent, Erratic Audio Timing