Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   MIDI (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   2 MIDI Controllers for 2 Virtual Instrument tracks (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=324671)

simonzero 06-27-2012 01:46 PM

2 MIDI Controllers for 2 Virtual Instrument tracks
 
Does anyone know how to get 2 Virtual Instruments working with two separate MIDI external controllers, each on their own track? I can do it with MIDI tracks and the instruments on Aux inputs, but I need them on the instruments so that my Extra controllers (MIDI CC's etc) also communicate with the Virtual Instrument.

browniespeaks 06-27-2012 01:52 PM

create an instrument track set the routing the same way you did with the aux.

Sent from my SGH-T769 using Tapatalk 2

albee1952 06-27-2012 06:50 PM

Re: 2 MIDI Controllers for 2 Virtual Instrument tracks
 
I do it all the time here, with 2 or even 3 separate controllers. The tricks to making it work involve showing the Instrument in the MIX window(select View>Mix Windows Show>Instruments). That adds a row across the top of the MIX window where you can set each instrument track to look at a particular controller device. 2 other notes; you may hear nothing or cross-triggering until the tracks are in record-ready(hold the Alt key while selecting record on 1 Instrument track to get all to engage). You also may need to go into Preferences>Midi tab and select NONE as the default thru instrument. Working fine here with a Roland kit, a Motif es8 and a cheap Ensoniq keyboard for Addictive Drums. MiniGrand and DB-33.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com