PDA

View Full Version : Hello guys and gals. Uses for Clip Gain?

Terry Wetzel
05-10-2017, 11:52 AM
I've been holding off posting since I'm new to 12.7 and still finding my way around. I was on 9.6 before and some of the changes made don't make much sense to me like adding the ability to purchase plugins right there on the screen. I guess Avid sensed that plugins are now the big $$ attraction. Anyway, here's my first question. What is the proper use of clip gain? By that I mean, when you click on the little symbol at the bottom left of the clip and the little fader appears, what are you supposed to adjust the dB level to? -10, 0, or other? Do you set all to the same dB level? I know that sounds dumb but that's where I'm at. Any response is appreciated. Thanks :confused::-)

Meads
05-10-2017, 11:57 AM
With clip gain basically what you do is determine what level hits your inserts. Volume automation happens after your chain of plugins, clip gain happens before that.
There is no "set everything to x and you're good"-rule (as in almost every regard).

Sugarnutz
05-10-2017, 11:57 AM
An example is a vocal line in a song where the words are uneven in level. You can separate the words and adjust the clip gain for each word individually.

djjazzy41
05-10-2017, 12:08 PM
I've been holding off posting since I'm new to 12.7 and still finding my way around. I was on 9.6 before and some of the changes made don't make much sense to me like adding the ability to purchase plugins right there on the screen. I guess Avid sensed that plugins are now the big $$ attraction. Anyway, here's my first question. What is the proper use of clip gain? By that I mean, when you click on the little symbol at the bottom left of the clip and the little fader appears, what are you supposed to adjust the dB level to? -10, 0, or other? Do you set all to the same dB level? I know that sounds dumb but that's where I'm at. Any response is appreciated. Thanks :confused::-)