PDA

View Full Version : HD question. i think im screwed

mahoney
12-29-2004, 07:59 AM
hey guys.

im pretty new to pro tools and i just bought a digi002 rack. i ordered an external HD over ebay becuase i heard that its alot faster and more efficent instead of recording to your internal HD (im using an Emachines laptop with 64bit processor 512 ram) but really slow internal HD.

the only thing i realized is that only a few external HDs are compatiable with pro tools (after i ordered bah)

so im just wondering if anyone has had any experiance with this particular HD.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5148880062&ed=1103954660000&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOT:CA:3

Item number: 5148880062

would it be best to get a PCMIA fire wire card to have some extra firewire ports? or just run the digi through the hard drive and then into the computer?

thanks alot guys

tele_player
12-29-2004, 08:26 AM
You might be OK. While there's a good chance it won't work correctly using the Firewire, there's also a chance that it WILL work correctly using USB. Others have had that experience, though maybe not with that exact drive.

mahoney
12-29-2004, 08:40 AM
oh cool..

but won't the usb be alot slower resulting in buffer errors and latency time ?

lemix
12-29-2004, 02:29 PM
USB2 protocol works fine. It isn't "a lot slower "

superpenguin79
12-29-2004, 03:21 PM
to be honest with you as far as computers go, I am not sure what type of music you are looking to record etc... or what your long term goals are for your system, but being in computers for a while, I have talked to a lot of folks that have troubles with Emachines computers. The reason being is because they are very cheaply put together. If you are looking to put something together that would go well with the 002 I would go with a nice AMD based system that you either build or purchase.