PDA

View Full Version : Finale and ProTools

bigcow
08-10-2004, 06:12 PM
I've imported Finale MIDI files into ProTools and used my JV1010 sound module with orchestral card to playback my scores. The JV1010 is limited to 16 MIDI channels which doesn't allow me to playback the 24-32 instruments in my score. A friend has recommended moving to Digital Performer and MachFive (or Reason or Kontact) to access orchestral libraries for a more realistic playback. Can this be achieved using Finale with ProTools or do I need to incorporate different software into the mix?

mahler007
08-10-2004, 09:32 PM
Why are you importing Finale files as MIDI files into PT when you can just play them back directly in Finale? Are you having problems with Finale's playback engine?

DP 's MIDI capabilities blow PT out of the water, and Mach 5 is supposedly really nice as far as software samplers go, although I have no personal experience with it. But I've also heard that Mach 5 doesn't ship with too many useful (orchestral) sounds, so you'll have to drop some $ on a good sample library. I use Reason and Kontakt, and I can vouch for both of them. I think they're great, but you have to be careful not to tax your Mac out. If you're going to run a couple different software synths, you need some pretty serious CPU power. Reason is really efficient, Kontakt not so much (at least in my experience...)

Still, I don't understand why you don't just do everything in Finale. I'm sure a software synth/sampler like Reason or Mach 5 would work in Finale- they work in Sibelius. Anyway, let me know if you have any other questions- I'm happy to help as best I can...

-Andrew

bigcow
08-11-2004, 05:41 AM