PDA

View Full Version : Berhinger Mixer Experience

Larryboy
08-10-2004, 04:04 AM
I'd never used one of their products before but had heard lots of unkind words on this forum about this company. Well, I just finished doing a job at an establishment which used to have a Spirit mixer which for some reason is gone now, replaced by a 12 channel Ber. I never remember having such a hard time with any mixer (I'm no novice with mixers). This thing is crap. Unidentifiable high ringing. I had to cut the highs and cut and cut, and cut on every channel (only three, thank God). It wasn't feedback. We were using SM58s and standing a bit behind the speakers, performing at low volume, but could not get rid of the ringing completely. I know it was the mixer because that was the only thing that had been changed. What kind of jokers make things like this? I know that a lot of you said that you would never buy anything from this co. and I have joined you. I'm taking my Spirit with me wherever i go.

JFreak
08-10-2004, 04:58 AM
sorry to hear that, but you should always ask what console you have in use when you go to mix something. maybe you really learnt a valuable lesson about this, and behringers? if so, good for you.

i'm personally taking my protools rig whenever i go to mix something and will not need more than 16 tracks. spirits are fine, i know them by heart, but whenever i can, i choose to mix in protools

Larryboy
08-10-2004, 05:42 AM
Maybe I should have mentioned that this was a live performance, not recording.

whereO219O
08-10-2004, 10:17 AM
Now you know why Behringer gets bashed so much...4th rate rippoff junk, that even at the insae cheap prices they charge is not worth it.

Icabod
08-10-2004, 03:21 PM
You didn't mention monitors...pretty rare to get feedback from mains unless the mics are in front of them.
When you cut the highs, the ringing went down, but not away, correct?