PDA

View Full Version : SMPTE Question

paulsanka
08-08-2004, 09:22 PM
Hi,

I'm doing the sound design/editing on a documentary in the next month and I need some advice regarding synchronization with Pro Tools LE. I've never used LE before, just DSP, so I'm not familiar with the synchronization options in LE.

Usually, I work with Logic Platinum on a G4 desktop system in my studio synched up to a timecode VCR through a MOTU Midi Express USB. This time however, because of a very tight post-production schedule, I'm going to be editing the sound away from my studio on an iBook G4.

I was planning on buying an MBox for the iBook and using ProTools LE to cut the sound but I was reading on the forums that I have to buy the DV Toolkit (for $1000 USD) to display a SMPTE Ruler and run a session at 29.97!? Is this true?

Will I be able to slave ProTools LE to my VHS deck through my Midi Express USB and run the session in 29.97 or is the DV ToolKit required for this? Does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

Thanks,

ps

Thresholdproductions
08-08-2004, 10:27 PM
I think you will need the DV toolkit as well as an MTPAV for accurate synchro to VHS. The Midi express doesn't have the synchro you need to hook up to your VHS machine. Why not digitize your VHS material to quicktime and then synch to the timecode burn. That would help.

John

antiphase
08-09-2004, 01:50 AM
why do u even need timecode........ I don't even use the crap anymore. I did an hour documentary project on LE and FCP HD without the need of timecode. But if you must use it............. I would not use PTLE........ 1000 for a simple time ruler???? ahhaha....... go get another copy of logic pro and give it to me. I would stay with Logic if i were u. 1000 bucks for the DV toolkit is beyond stupid.

katoramone
08-09-2004, 02:15 AM
I've done 2 broadcast animations on LE by simply dumping the video to quicktime with timecode burn on it. If your session is setup right it wont stray on the timeline.