PDA

View Full Version : NEED HELP!!!!! BUYING NEW PC AND VERY CONFUSED!!!!

JRod75
07-31-2004, 01:35 PM
First off Does PTLE/MBOX run better on MAC or PC? Next, I am going to buy the MBOX and a new Notebook and I am very torn between two models. I hope someone can help me out. I am very new to the ProTools community and I am very confused on what computer to buy, I read the compatabilty sheet, but there is so much information I'm getting a little lost. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!The models I am looking at are:

Apple iBook G4
512MB DDR266 (256MB built-in)
• 40GB Ultra ATA drive
• Combo Drive (DVD-ROM/CD-RW)
• Keyboard/Mac OS X - U.S. English
• 14.1-inch TFT XGA display
• 1GHz PowerPC G4
• ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 w/ 32MB DDR video memory
LaCie d2 160GB FireWire Drive T6552LL/A

OR

Dell Inspiron 8600
Intel® Pentium® M Processor 705(1.5GHz), 15.4 in WXGA
512MB DDR SDRAM 2 Dimms
32MB DDR NVIDIA®GeForce™ FX Go5200 AGP 4X Graphics
40GB Hard Drive
250GB USB External One Touch Hard Drive (7200rpm)

They are both around the same price I just don't know which one would be best.

yin7yang64
07-31-2004, 01:59 PM
Whatever computer you get, you'll eventually have to do a bit of troubleshooting to keep it humming along...whether you use Pro Tools or not. You should go with what you know best right now: PC or Mac. If you have no or little experience with either, my recommendation would be the Mac. BUT...keep in mind that I am exclusively a Mac user and that's what I know best. My few forays into the Windows machine world where I work have always been uncertain and confusing. I often have a hard time troubleshooting simple issues on them. However, I'm sure I could have learned them as well as I know my Mac gear. My subjective observation is that Mac gear is more satisfying to work with as a user and troubleshooter.

Make sure you post this query in the Windows section for their input.