Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-1999, 05:42 PM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

I'm putting together a PT24 Mix+ system on a Mac 9500 and am curious as to what screen resolution any of you find convenient when mixing, especially those who are not using dual monitors. (The dual monitor idea sounds awesome...but way out of my budget).

This will help me decide a) what monitor to get and, b) whether or not I need a pci graphics accelerator (as apposed to a using the standard 4Meg video card).

I don't really have a great need to see all tracks at one time or anything like that. I am a musican and will be mixing my own material, so it's not like I'll be setting fader levels for a whole band in a hurry.

Thanks in advance for any reply.

Tom Dexter
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-1999, 01:16 PM
Didier de Roos Didier de Roos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Belgium
Posts: 206
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

Tom,

sorry to appear snobbish, but in my opinion the only way I can use PT is with two monitors...One gets the mixing desk, the other the edit window. I used to have two 17" screens for that purpose, at 832*624, but I switched one month ago to a dual 19" screen setup at 1024*768. If your budget is really tight, I would advise you to at least choose a good quality screen (like a Trinitron), and to run it at 832*624 in 256 colors: that would suit your video card requirements, as well as accelerate the screen refresh somewhat. It so happens that the dimensions of the fully open mixer page, with sends and inserts, fits exactly that height (624 pixels). Don't go for a 15": you would ruin your eyes trying to see what's going on, even if you're young...

Hope I've been a little bit helpful, and good luck!

Didier
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-1999, 02:03 PM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

Thanks Didier. We planned getting a 19" most likely, 17 at least. When the budget permits , I think we may go for the second monitor. Actaully, it sounds as though two 17s may be a smarter goal than one 19.

Interesting point about the 256 colors and refresh rate. I'll remember that.

Thanks again.

Tom
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-1999, 04:50 PM
SFXCraig SFXCraig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Allentown, PA. 18104
Posts: 52
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

I work on a 21" monitor for editing, and a 20" monitor beside it in the mix window.

I used to use one 17".. don't know how I ever did it! With a 17" monitor to be had for under $300, it might really not be out of reach to go for a dual-monitor setup. Saves SO much hassle!

-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-1999, 05:28 PM
Oli P Oli P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 562
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

Maybe it is out of your budget range, but I use a 24" widescreen monitor in 1920x1200.

It gives you a lot of faders simultaniously, and updates faster than a dual monitor setup.

Also improves your speaker placement.
__________________
www.olipoulsen.com

iMac27 i7 3.4 / 32 GB Ram / ML 10.8.5
Apollo 8 / PTHD 10.3.9 / PTHD 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-1999, 07:04 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

2 x Apple studio display flatscreen 15' but = "same view as 17 inch" (?) are v sexy and knock everyone out. They are flicker free and don't interfere with single coil guitar pick ups (buzzing). I dig em! pricey, but they impress clients no end........slightly flimsy build though, one stand has bust already....
Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-1999, 12:43 AM
Dead Space Dead Space is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA
Posts: 88
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

We've got the same flat screens and I have to agree with Jules. Fairly easy on the eyes, everyone ooos and ahhhs over them. Also, like Jules, we have one broken stand (only about 4 months out of the box). A common problem with these Apple displays perhaps?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2000, 07:24 PM
joepopp joepopp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: NYC, New York USA
Posts: 377
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

Can you two monitor guys tell me how you select which monitor the mouse effects? ESC key?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2000, 10:28 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

And just to prove that people are all different, I use two 17" monitors set to 1152 x 870 for Pro Tools (otherwise they're set to 1024 x 768).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-04-2000, 08:28 AM
Marc Edwards Marc Edwards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 287
Default Re: Screen resolution in PT24 Mix?

joepopp, you just move the mouse pointer past the edge of on monitor into the next...

Anyone know the difference between the new graphite digital TFT monitors, and the B&W TFT monitors? (appart from the fact you need a Sawtooth G4 for the new monitors)

Marc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen resolution for widescreen keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-11-2011 10:31 AM
Screen Resolution KTKonflict 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-05-2010 07:19 PM
screen resolution bo-jingles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-18-2006 02:57 AM
Screen Resolution Question tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-10-2003 09:32 PM
Screen Resolution for PTools Don LeBlanc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 04-15-2002 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com