Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2003, 02:33 PM
frankiejaxx frankiejaxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sherman Oaks,Ca
Posts: 8
Default what does ACIDIZED mean?

hello everyone,

so there are these cheap loop cd's that i want to buy and they are ACIDIZED. everytime i hear that word i think of PC's and not Macs. The guy who is selling them tells me they are 16 bit-44khz -wav.format. i know that i can use this in theory but the word ACIDIZED scares me. will i be able to import these loops into my 001?

thanks in advance

frankiejaxx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2003, 03:42 PM
djxodus djxodus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: altamonte Springs
Posts: 39
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Acidized is a term used for loops which have tempo and pitch data attached to the file. This is how the program "Acid" reads the file and is able to mix different loops of different tempos to sync in the program.
They can be used in any program, 001 does not read the "acidized" part so it just gets impoted as a wav. file. You have to adjust tempos yourself with in PT. to match.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2003, 03:44 PM
frankiejaxx frankiejaxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sherman Oaks,Ca
Posts: 8
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Quote:
Originally posted by djxodus:
Acidized is a term used for loops which have tempo and pitch data attached to the file. This is how the program "Acid" reads the file and is able to mix different loops of different tempos to sync in the program.
They can be used in any program, 001 does not read the "acidized" part so it just gets impoted as a wav. file. You have to adjust tempos yourself with in PT. to match.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">thanks for your help!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2003, 03:46 PM
FirstStep FirstStep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 98
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

I don't know about 'importing them into your Digi001', but as for using them in any app that recognizes .wav files, you'll be fine. All ACIDIZED means is that special markers have been saved with the file that let Sonic Foundry products (and some others like Logic, but not ProTools) read specific info like tempo etc... but you'll be able to use them fine. Being ACIDized is just an added bonus for certain people.

BTW, ACID is a GREAT program- I cut my production teeth on it before moving to Reason (and from PC to Mac..), and it has, in my opinion, the best loop/sound chopping and editing abilities of any program. Just my 2 cents..
__________________
Vision is always ahead of execution, knowledge of material is your contact with reality, and uncertainty is a virtue.

-David Bayles; Art & Fear
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2003, 03:51 PM
djxodus djxodus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: altamonte Springs
Posts: 39
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Bitheadz makes a program called "Phrazer" which works like Acid in that it reads Acidized files and syncs all loops of different tempo like acid.
So if you want to take advantage of the Acidized loops and just have a Mac check out this program.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2003, 04:18 PM
frankiejaxx frankiejaxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sherman Oaks,Ca
Posts: 8
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

[QUOTE]Originally posted by FirstStep:
[QB] I don't know about 'importing them into your Digi001',

i guess i just meant bringing the acidized loop into my region bin and then dragging into the track. does that make more sense? you CAN do this, right?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2003, 08:30 PM
orage orage is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 669
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Live will also read and display "ACIDIZED" files. I've been using Acid for a couple of years to create beds and environments for my shows, but absolutely flipped over Live when I demoed it! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Paul Peterson
Sound Director
The Old Globe
San Diego, CA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2003, 10:55 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Ableton Live.

A new found love. I was also a PC user and used Acid since the day it came out, but Live 2.0 has put a spell on me, it's sublime.

As for Phrazer, unless they (Bitheadz) cleaned up their act and released a new and more stable version, it might be worth checking into. Last time I even heard the mention of Phrazer, it was extremely buggy and quite honestly, laughed at in disbelief that they dared put out this kind of trash (I'm being serious), so beware. Save yourself a headache and get Live if you're looking for a good loop base program for Mac.
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2003, 11:52 AM
ronev ronev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Posts: 196
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

Yeah, pk, I read that review of Phrazer, and it was laughable. The loops would not even stay in sync with other loops for the entire song. Maybe it's ok now, but I would doubt it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2003, 09:21 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: what does ACIDIZED mean?

yes, works like Acid, only better, IMO.

-great for live gigs
-excellent time stretching
-incredible reverb (for a $300 program, it's a damn fine sounding verb)
-incredible sound mangling plugins
-works beatufilly as a multitracker (I use it with my M-Audio 2496 to record live instruments)
-Rewire compatible, no need to explain what that entails to us PT users [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]

www.ableton.com
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aiff, acidized wav or Rex2 loops? JoeLouis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-04-2009 10:42 AM
Help! Workspace files have been acidized by PT7! PastaViking II Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 10-09-2008 07:47 PM
crackle and pop on Acidized loops bubbiesdod Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-02-2006 03:00 PM
ACIDIZED files in PT7 - not working correctly jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 05-29-2006 09:53 PM
Importing Acidized ROCK Drum Loops into Pro Tools Jay Terrien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-15-2003 09:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com