Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2020, 12:39 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 264
Default Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Hi everyone,

I'm having huge problems with freezing of (nested) folder tracks.
Something seems to be upsetting the Delay Compensation.

When I play back regularly, before freezing, everything sounds in sync, with ADC on, perfectly aligned to the click.

When I freeze, the audio looks perfectly aligned to the grid, good!
Frozen audio and click track display the same amount of delay compensation.
But when playing back, they play back out of sync!

Anyone else experiencing this?

Cheers

EDIT: Tracks have same routing and I have confirmed: Disabling ADC makes them play perfectly in sync. So, something wrong with the ADC engine?

Last edited by XJENSEN; 04-01-2020 at 12:45 PM. Reason: Additional info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2020, 01:18 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 264
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

I already found the cause! If any other track in the session has a User Offset, the frozen folder track starts to play out of sync by that amount.

So it's not a problem with the Freeze function, but rather with the delay compensation of the frozen folder track (not a frozen track in general, because my frozen click track plays fine).

Definitely a bug they overlooked. I will report it to Avid.

EDIT: Reported as case 03916895.

Additionally, the workaround to instead commit the track also fails, and the audio is placed too early on the timeline. This only happens for folder tracks. Other tracks in the session commit and freeze fine.

Last edited by XJENSEN; 04-01-2020 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Additional info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2020, 02:49 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 264
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

It also seems impossible to dial in a negative User Offset on the frozen folder track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2020, 07:32 AM
mirovaz mirovaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brazil
Posts: 59
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Thanks for the info. I am not using folder tracks until I finish the album I am currently mixing... I do use lots of frozen tracks.
__________________
iMac 27", Intel i7 processor - 20GB Memory
OSX 10.13.6
Protools 2020.3.0
UA OCTO Thunderbolt, UAD Twin MK2 QUAD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2020, 11:27 PM
Oggy Oggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 54
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Oh well, another year of waiting for a fix....

Thanks for the heads-up!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2020, 05:45 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 264
Default Re: Problem with Folder Tracks: Plays out of sync after Freeze

Another heads up: First bug was confirmed by Avid and logged as PT-261047.

The negative user offsets not being allowed for Folder Tracks is explained as 'by design', because a Folder Track basically behaves as an Aux track in this respect (Aux tracks also don't allow a negative offset, whether frozen or unfrozen).

As soon as they fix the first bug, committing the Folder Track would become a viable workaround.

I think they could improve their general design concept and allow for any frozen track (which basically behaves as audio once it's frozen) to be allowed to be negatively compensated. The +/- icon for User Offsets is misleading in this respect and also no word about it in the manual. Just the warning you get when you try to set a negative offset in PT itself.

On the other hand, there's the argument that you would probably compensate any timing problems at the source tracks, so it becomes less relevant for the Aux/Folder tracks. So I can live with that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
updated to 11.3.1, now it plays tracks behind? awritersparadise Pro Tools 11 4 05-01-2015 01:25 PM
Playback Engine scrambled. Plays stereo track out of sync aasteveo Pro Tools 9 2 06-01-2012 03:38 PM
Mac Pro Nehalem / Pro Tools 8 / movie window plays out of sync on second monitor monkeyp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-27-2009 02:32 PM
Sync problem? Bounced WAV plays too fast! MrJoshua 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-03-2006 10:23 AM
Problem record in sync more than 4 tracks. Jiri Gotz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-19-2003 07:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com