Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2018, 08:43 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,605
Default New life for an old build !!!

I've been stable since 2010 with my Pro Tools 9/Win 7 build. I decided to do a few hardware upgrades, and try to keep it running ... even longer !!!

upgrades:
1. motherboard: GA-X58A-UD3R ---> update to latest bios version FH
2. CPU: i7-930 quad ---> i7-980X hex
3. RAM: 6 x 2 = 12GB ---> 4 x 8 = 32GB
4. drives: 3 int WD Black HDDs ---> 3 int Samsung SSDs

Note:
The 4 ram sticks are indeed running in triple-channel mode. The Gigabyte manual clearly says that you can use 3, 4, or 6 sticks in triple-channel mode. To achieve triple-channel mode, you must insert the 4 sticks into certain specific slots, as the manual states. I was skeptical... First, I put in 3 sticks for 24GB, and it was fine. Then I tried adding the 4th (all 4 matching sticks are 8GB each). It worked right away - 32GB in triple-channel mode. Memtest86 = 0 errors. The extra ram will be helpful for my video editing projects.

Pro Tools 9 non-HD is (still ...) working. I changed the processor prefs to use 11 cores. I haven't run a lot of PTools on it quite yet, since I just finished this upgrade yesterday. I'll try to beat-up-on-it soon.

I did some more research, and decided to attempt some very gentle overclocking. I bumped it up from 3.33 MHz (stock) to 3.9. I also made sure the ram was running at the mfgr spec of 1600MHz.

Finally, I did a video render test of a recent video edit project. I timed this render before and after these upgrades. The render after upgrades was 44% faster. Wow!!! CPU temps under full-load (i.e. during the video render) were 65-72C.

So far so good!!! A pretty cool upgrade. I learned a lot, and it didn't cost me a fortune!!!
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 06-11-2018 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-27-2018, 01:36 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,544
Default Re: New life for an old build !!!

I did a very similar update to my old i7 950 rig with the same mobo. It ran PT9 and 10 really well(it was always good, but the 980X was a nice bump in horsepower). It did NOT do well with PT11(which was why I built a newer system), but for 9/10, it was dandy. I am confused on how 4 sticks can run triple-channel(unless BIOS makes the system ignore the extra RAM) Is there are noticeable difference between 3 and 4 sticks?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2018, 09:54 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: New life for an old build !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
...I am confused on how 4 sticks can run triple-channel(unless BIOS makes the system ignore the extra RAM) Is there are noticeable difference between 3 and 4 sticks?
Check out page 16 of the Gigabyte manual http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList...d3r_v2.0_e.pdf Bios is definitely running all 4 sticks in triple-channel mode. The extra ram does help with my video editing program. (But of course PT9 is a 32-bit app, so it sees no benefit from extra ram.)
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link

Last edited by EGS; 07-16-2018 at 10:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2018, 09:55 PM
sadateffendy's Avatar
sadateffendy sadateffendy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Jakarta / Indonesia
Posts: 27
Default Re: New life for an old build !!!

Happy user with the old mobo X58a-UD7, Almost 10years...almost change everything thou except motherboard
CPU : i7930 to Xeon W3690 (very cheap on ebay 100$)
RAM : 8gb to 24gb
GPU : 9800GT to GTX970
System Disk : Raptor 10k rpm seagate to SSD 850pro
Hackie OsX : 10.6>10.8>10.10>10.12 (i dont know why . Change Os on even number)
Change Bios battery Once :)

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2018, 07:49 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,605
Default Re: New life for an old build !!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sadateffendy View Post
... Change Bios battery Once ...
Thanks for that - a reminder for me to do this ...
__________________
Desktop: Win 7 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / PT 9 / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / PT 9 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Review! Based on Mano/Ame? and SPCR Fanless build Calipoop Windows 4 11-16-2011 09:38 PM
PT just does not work, so should I build a new PC build or just but a MAC? ajcsound Windows 17 05-17-2011 10:22 PM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 Tips & Tricks 5 09-23-2003 01:08 PM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 09-19-2003 07:40 PM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-18-2003 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com