Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 12 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2017, 07:07 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

How is this even possible?

Sigh.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 14.05.20.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	9353  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2017, 08:03 AM
cshaw cshaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Bastrop, TX
Posts: 107
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Is there any MIDI controller information on this track (pitch bend, volume, etc. )


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
www.chrisshawmix.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:08 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Well yes but even that data should be contained within a clip. Otherwise there's not much point in clips existing in the first place.

Last edited by midnightrambler; 11-08-2017 at 10:13 AM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:13 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Also, is this a bug or a feature?

Write in a new note, watch the old notes disappear.....for what seems like no reason...

(If it is a feature, who the hell ordered that???)


https://vid.me/RIVbR


Sigh. So fed up with this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:23 AM
john1192 john1192 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,280
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Also, is this a bug or a feature?

Write in a new note, watch the old notes disappear.....for what seems like no reason...

(If it is a feature, who the hell ordered that???)


https://vid.me/RIVbR


Sigh. So fed up with this.
thats odd .. never seen that before .. does it happen in bank fresh sessoin with just one mdid track ???
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2017, 03:26 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 957
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

isn't that the same bug as in this thread

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=394825

?
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX 12.8.3  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2017, 01:14 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Not sure, doesn't seem very clear. The MIDI notes are definitely playing on my clip.

Someone needs to set fire to the whole MIDI engine and start again with it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2017, 05:08 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

And STILL not always recalling MIDI Ports on instrument tracks compared to when it was last saved.


THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE VERSION 8! 10 YEARS AGO!

Give me strength.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1510229173
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 12.02.20.png
Views:	0
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	9355  
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2017, 08:31 AM
john1192 john1192 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,280
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

[QUOTE=midnightrambler;2458619]And STILL not always recalling MIDI Ports on instrument tracks compared to when it was last saved.


THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE VERSION 8! 10 YEARS AGO!

Give me strength.

thats a pretty big Font Size !!!! we heard you in the States !!!!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-2017, 11:36 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,998
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2



And again. 6 MIDI ports missing this time, literally 5 minutes between closing, opening another session, then re-opening. So utterly rubbish.


http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1510252551
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 18.31.40.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	9359  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Key Command Toggle Clip and Notes views on a midi track? DFT Pro Tools 10 Discussion 4 03-21-2017 05:04 AM
MIDI notes randomly don't play, although visible in the clip XJENSEN Pro Tools 12 Discussion 5 01-11-2017 12:03 PM
Batch separate clip at memory locations exist for Post workflows? evil_cliff Pro Tools 12 Discussion 6 06-15-2016 12:27 AM
MIDI Editor should hide notes note in clip melino Pro Tools 10 Discussion 0 06-30-2012 02:36 PM
How to convert midi notes to a clip? MarkH Pro Tools 10 Discussion 6 12-29-2011 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com