Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Click for info about Avid @ NAB 2017

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2016, 11:34 AM
Magnetic Magnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Columbus Ohio USA
Posts: 205
Default Soft Knob Kinetics

Is there any way to adjust the responsiveness of the softknobs? I find them nearly unusable. You can make quick, course adjustments, but trying to fine tune a setting devolves into a jerky, unresponsive mess.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-31-2016, 11:50 AM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 159
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

I haven't used a Dock but it's a pretty safe bet that they're the same as an S3. The kinetics of the S3 knobs is one of the most complained about issues and almost everyone seems to agree that this could be improved.

What we need is two user adjustable settings: One to adjust the speed/sensitivity of the knob and one to adjust the degree of acceleration (including the option to have no acceleration at all). There could also be a modifier key to give a fine adjustment mode

Give us these options and I think everyone would be happy. On the face of it, it seems like something that's relatively easy to implement yet it would result in a substantial improvement for the user.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2016, 03:26 PM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 172
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-S-Q View Post
There could also be a modifier key to give a fine adjustment mode.
Don't command do that? (it did on the ICON surfaces, and it does on the S6)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2016, 03:55 PM
J-S-Q J-S-Q is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: London
Posts: 159
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

Quote:
Originally Posted by amolin View Post
Don't command do that? (it did on the ICON surfaces, and it does on the S6)
Actually that's probably the case in Pro Tools but I'm a Cubase user. Anyway, I think the main priority is user adjustable sensitivity/acceleration.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2016, 11:20 AM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: houston
Posts: 417
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

I've been complaining about this for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2016, 10:15 AM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 223
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

This still is an issue which should have been addressed a long time ago!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2016, 10:32 AM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

Quote:
Originally Posted by JanuS View Post
This still is an issue which should have been addressed a long time ago!
It's not great. Doesn't feel very smooth at all. Shame ..
__________________
Richard Spooner

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2016, 04:18 AM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 232
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

As said above, holding down "command" (Mac) solves this for me. They now act as would be expected.

Kyle is there any way of adding a pref so we can switch this behaviour around ?
__________________
Richard Spooner

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2016, 04:56 AM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 223
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoons View Post
As said above, holding down "command" (Mac) solves this for me. They now act as would be expected.

Kyle is there any way of adding a pref so we can switch this behaviour around ?
Yes, holding the Command key gives the rotary a linear motion, but it's a bit too slow for most quick filter actions (doing audio post here, with lots of fast automation..)

It would be best IMHO if the rotary speed is set to linear, and there's a pref for linear speed only. Like the jog wheel speed setting..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2016, 10:33 AM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Soft Knob Kinetics

Yeah, totally hear you on this one, guys. S6 provides a lot of customizability here that we'd like to incorporate into EuControl products. I can't give an ETA on that, but I fully realize how important this is.

Thanks,
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Avid Product Designer
Mountain View, CA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soft knob setting in EQ Trent Nelson Artist Series 3 02-03-2012 08:16 AM
soft-limiter on mbox 3 soft-limiter.. overdriven tape saturation sound mjhann83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-07-2011 09:01 AM
002R Volume knob=Control24 Volume knob?? Gothboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-07-2010 04:04 PM
how to limit very soft AND loud singer? Knob ride? tapani 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-29-2004 07:47 PM
What would be the perfect (Plugin, Soft Synth, Soft Sampler Library)? rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-16-2002 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com