Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2016, 10:41 PM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

What's up everybody? Wow, I haven't been on these forums forever. I am in need of some assistance though, as this has me stumped.

So....where to start?....First of all, I just built a brand new computer 2 days ago that was built for the sole use of running Pro Tools 9.0.2. My hardware of choice is still the digi 003 Rack. I also run a dbx 386 vacuum tube pre into the 003 while recording vocals and instruments.

My new computer contains the following....

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Jon-DT
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : ASUS All Series ASUS MB
Serial Number : System Ser**********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Serial Number : 1508504********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 0602 12/07/2015
Intel vPro : 9.01.25.1005
Total Memory : 31.9GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz (4C 8T 4.4GHz, 4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1150

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Haswell) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 16GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-1600C9-8GXM 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : SAMSUNG
(1600x1200, 19.1")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (20CU 160SP SM5.0 600MHz/1.25GHz, 512kB L2, 192MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 600MHz/1.25GHz, 256kB L2, 1.3GB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
Compute Shader Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 600MHz/1.25GHz, 512kB L2, 192MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenGL Processor : Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 (160SP 20C 600MHz/1.25GHz, 512kB L2, 128MB DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
SanDisk SDSSDXPS240G (240GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD) : 224GB (C:)
WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (E:)
WDC WD7502AAEX-00Y9A0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 699GB (F:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H62L (150.6MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 144MB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDXPS240G (240GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
PT (E:) : 466GB (NTFS, 32kB) @ WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
backup (F:) : 699GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD7502AAEX-00Y9A0 (750.2GB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Hard Disk (C:) : 223GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDXPS240G (240GB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
HSCARD14B (D:) : 144MB (CDFS, 2kB, Read-Only) @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H62L (150.6MB, SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family Z97 LPC Controller
Audio Device : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family SATA Controller [AHCI Mode]
USB Controller 1 : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family USB xHCI Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : ASUS 9 Series Chipset Family USB EHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 4 : ASUS ASM1142 USB 3.1 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Adaptec TSB82AA2 IEEE-1394b Link Layer Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : 13330 XIO2213A PCI Express to 1394b OHCI with 3-Port PHY
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection (2) I218-V (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

SO THE PROBLEM.

Audio playback is working fine on all old sessions and audio playback is working fine on new sessions. As soon as I arm a track and go to record though through a mic, its really bad distortion on the signal and it is recording that signal as well...( I bounced a 0:30 clip just to see) I have my regular control room shure sm 58 plugged into analog 1 on the 003 rack, and my shure sm7b is running through my preamp and then into the 003 via S/dif cable. BOTH MICS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM...so I can rule out that it is my preamp or even the individual mics....

I went into playback engine settings and noticed that I no longer have all the buffer options I used to have....It always used to allow me to choose between 256, 512, 1024 ....now the only option available to use is 256. No other options even show up in the list. Its showing 8 processors (85%usage) and I have the DAE playback buffer at level 2 (default) and cache to normal...

Did i buy something wrong when building the computer itself? I will admit right off the bat that this is the nicest computer i have ever used and I have never had a computer even close to this powerful. It's just bothering me that all other playback seems to be smooth as butter and even my plugin heavy session run great and sound great. Its ONLY when I try to record vocal tracks that this mic distortion appears...Is there any possibility that this on board sound/graphics could be messing with something?? I am using the on board sound/graphics for my regular internet sound and display.....I used to have separate cards for each...

Anyway not sure what else I can tell you about the issue other than what's already been typed. I have uninstalled and reinstalled pro tools, tried the upgrade to 9.0.6 and had the same issue...uninstalled my 003 drivers and reinstalled and still the same problem. I can usually trouble shoot my own weird problems but this one is driving me nuts...

what am I missing? Is there something about this computer build that is messing with the playback engine? Why does everything else including imported audio playback fine and perfect, but not recorded audio?

Heres a dropbox link to a clip of the sound i am talking about...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bsml9noybdgputu/test.wav?dl=0

Last edited by Digidood; 01-28-2016 at 08:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2016, 03:58 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,053
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Hi,

It sound like there is a bitcrusher/distortion plugin on the track.
Have you tried creating a brand new session and record into that?

If that doesn't help I would try to remove all the plugins from the pluginfolder and delete your Pro Tools preferences.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2016, 08:34 AM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Yes i have tried recording into numerous sessions, even sessions that have all prefect working audio tracks that were recorded in the past and no matter what, anything I try to record now gives me that terrible signal...

I'm thinking maybe I need a new fire wire card? Is there any way that my old pci fire wire card is not compatible with the new PC build? i mean the motherboard has the pci slot so i figured it would be fine. But it has to be either the 003 or the fire wire connection as all other audio plays back fine...I was also kinda weirded out that i can only use 256 under buffer settings in playback engine now? Has anyone seen that before? Like, only that one option shows up now...there is no choices...is that because of how fast and powerful my cpu is now??doesn't need other options now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2016, 08:50 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,243
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Mmm I'd love to say a bad mic, but you excluded that.

Do you have any other interface with a mic input to test with?

Make sure "ignore error" is unchecked in the playback engine dialog.

Make sure Windows or other apps are not trying to use the 003 as an audio device... if they are not then you should see more options for playback buffer size.

I would suspect lots more stuff before anything to do with Firewire hardware or setup.

Trash prefs and databases. Open a completely empty session (not a template, not a copy of a session) at 44.1 kHz and try with that. (just in case you were not using a completely empty session before).

What 003 driver version are you using? Why are you on 9.0.2 not 9.0.5? (I have no reason to expect that fixes this, but 9.0.5 is generally a good release).

Links to components are not much help, please just post a SiSoft Sandra report as expected. Start at the "Help us help you" link up top of this page. And add a not to the Sandra report showing which disk partitions are used for samples, and audio/sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:54 AM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Trash prefs and databases. Open a completely empty session (not a template, not a copy of a session) at 44.1 kHz and try with that. (just in case you were not using a completely empty session before).

What 003 driver version are you using? Why are you on 9.0.2 not 9.0.5? (I have no reason to expect that fixes this, but 9.0.5 is generally a good release).

Links to components are not much help, please just post a SiSoft Sandra report as expected. Start at the "Help us help you" link up top of this page. And add a not to the Sandra report showing which disk partitions are used for samples, and audio/sessions.
How do i trash prefs and databases? will that mess with any of my other sessions? I have never had to do that before.?

I am using the same old drivers for 9.0.2 that i have used for the last 7 years....The reason i am on 9.0.2 is because that's the paid version i have available to me through my avid account. There is a upgrade to 9.0.6 but i tried that already and had the exact same results as on 9.0.2 so i uninstalled and reinstalled 9.0.2 as it was the last working setup i had.

What is a sandra report??and how do i do that??i guess i will google it.. I have never done that either...sorry. I built my old machine like 8 years ago and used it until right before Christmas this year and had 0 problems that whole time...I decided to upgrade my computer thinking it was time and now this strange issue happens....I haven't replaced the fire wire card for 7 or 8 years either...I was just wondering if it might be slower or not fully compatible with a brand new PC 8 years later...its the only piece that got transferred from my old PC to the new one....

I also used to have separate sound card and video cards in my old machine and this time i chose to go with the on board since the specs are really good and they are supposed to perform well for regular sound and video. I like to think that sound card could have nothing to do with the 003 since it is its own sound card running through fire wire...I am wondering if maybe a newer PCIe fire wire card might be more suited to my system.

Last edited by Digidood; 01-20-2016 at 10:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:07 AM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

I found the info about sandra reports....i will have to do that tonight when i am back at the studio....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:38 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,243
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Everything you need is under the "help us help you" link up top of this page, Including trashing prefs and databases under the standard troubleshooting steps there.

I don't follow what you are saying. All I am asking you to do is simply make sure the 003 is not being used as a sound device by Windows or any other app. Have you checked that?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:41 AM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

The only other program that uses the 003 would be FL Studio.....other than that the rest on the PC's sound is handled by the onboard sound...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2016, 10:50 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,243
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digidood View Post
The only other program that uses the 003 would be FL Studio.....other than that the rest on the PC's sound is handled by the onboard sound...
Ok great, make sure FL Studio is not running. If nothing else is using the interface that does not help explain why you might only be getting one playback engine buffer size available. So check the driver version and try unisntalling and installing the latest supported driver for your OS and Pro Tools combo. Avoid every hot plugging/unplugging that interface (turn it off while uninstalling/installing the driver). This is unlikely to be an issue with the firewire card in your PC (but I hope for other reasons you do have a good TI chipset card).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2016, 08:26 PM
Digidood Digidood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Distortion during playback of recorded tracks!! HELP!?

Ok, so I have updated my original post with the sandra report...Please, if anyone can see anything out of the ordinary about the computer build let me know ASAP!!.

Since posting this, I have taken my 003 rack to another studio and plugged it in and it worked perfect. I now know it is not my rack. I am still experiencing the same problems as in the original post, Distortion on anything recorded no matter which way it plugged into the 003 (analog, s/dif)

I have also ordered and received a brand new fire wire card so that is why you will see 2 different ones installed on the sandra...

I am almost certain the issue is happening because of something to do with the PC as its brand new and was just built...I have went through and done most of the windows 7 optimizations that apply to my system and nothign changes...I can still only access the 256 option under playback buffer...no other options exist....

I have a case open with avid hoping to get an upgrade to pro tools 10 or 11 as well...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recorded 20 tracks in HD studio-need to playback on MBox2Pro boogie2lyrics Tips & Tricks 1 05-31-2008 02:53 PM
Mbox Distortion / Garble on recorded Audio. KingFish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-09-2006 02:50 AM
Distortion on playback but no clipping on tracks jojolicious 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-17-2005 12:52 AM
Distortion in playback on recorded audio LACrusaders 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-26-2005 10:49 AM
noise/distortion on recorded audio gluefoot General Discussion 4 03-12-2004 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com