Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2015, 05:50 AM
jkeefauver jkeefauver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 89
Default PT 12 Track Presets

This isn't new, been around for some time but I'm just getting around to implementing it. Figured I would reiterate the steps for anyone in the same boat. If you don't understand what this is about, search up a video on PT track presets and it will all become apparent. Anyhow, here's how I did it in 12 and I'm sure it works this way in 11 as well. 10 and before have different instructions but I'm sure they are pretty easy to find.

SOLVED: The actual track presets have to be in subfolders under the "Track Presets" folder. If they are in the root, they don't show up. So, for anyone looking for the quick and dirty steps for this for PT12 (and likely 11 too):

1. Create a Track Presets (plural) folder under Documents / Pro Tools
2. Create your track preset sessions, select the tracks you want to have as part of the preset and Export them as a session to the folder you just created. HOWEVER, you need to put them in logical subfolders like maybe 2Bus, Vox, Cue, etc.....whatever.
3. Once saved, go to explorer or whatever it's called in Mac-land and change the file suffix from .PTX to .PTXT making it a template.
4. Now when you use the new track dialog, you'll see your subfolders listed under the track type drop-down and you can select any of your self-created presets from there.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2015, 08:32 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,666
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeefauver View Post
This isn't new, been around for some time but I'm just getting around to implementing it. Figured I would reiterate the steps for anyone in the same boat. If you don't understand what this is about, search up a video on PT track presets and it will all become apparent. Anyhow, here's how I did it in 12 and I'm sure it works this way in 11 as well. 10 and before have different instructions but I'm sure they are pretty easy to find.

SOLVED: The actual track presets have to be in subfolders under the "Track Presets" folder. If they are in the root, they don't show up. So, for anyone looking for the quick and dirty steps for this for PT12 (and likely 11 too):

1. Create a Track Presets (plural) folder under Documents / Pro Tools
2. Create your track preset sessions, select the tracks you want to have as part of the preset and Export them as a session to the folder you just created. HOWEVER, you need to put them in logical subfolders like maybe 2Bus, Vox, Cue, etc.....whatever.
3. Once saved, go to explorer or whatever it's called in Mac-land and change the file suffix from .PTX to .PTXT making it a template.
4. Now when you use the new track dialog, you'll see your subfolders listed under the track type drop-down and you can select any of your self-created presets from there.

You can save a step when you do the export and that's to change the file extension right there; been doing that on my iMac. Do note that you may have to restart PT to see the new presets.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2015, 09:00 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,781
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeefauver View Post
This isn't new, been around for some time but I'm just getting around to implementing it. Figured I would reiterate the steps for anyone in the same boat. If you don't understand what this is about, search up a video on PT track presets and it will all become apparent. Anyhow, here's how I did it in 12 and I'm sure it works this way in 11 as well. 10 and before have different instructions but I'm sure they are pretty easy to find.

SOLVED: The actual track presets have to be in subfolders under the "Track Presets" folder. If they are in the root, they don't show up. So, for anyone looking for the quick and dirty steps for this for PT12 (and likely 11 too):

1. Create a Track Presets (plural) folder under Documents / Pro Tools
2. Create your track preset sessions, select the tracks you want to have as part of the preset and Export them as a session to the folder you just created. HOWEVER, you need to put them in logical subfolders like maybe 2Bus, Vox, Cue, etc.....whatever.
3. Once saved, go to explorer or whatever it's called in Mac-land and change the file suffix from .PTX to .PTXT making it a template.
4. Now when you use the new track dialog, you'll see your subfolders listed under the track type drop-down and you can select any of your self-created presets from there.

Trasher in my signature will create the main folder along with quite a few categorically layer out sub folders.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2015, 04:37 AM
jkeefauver jkeefauver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 89
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack

Thanks for the info guys. Good stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-2015, 07:45 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 964
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkeefauver View Post

SOLVED: The actual track presets have to be in subfolders under the "Track Presets" folder. If they are in the root, they don't show up. So, for anyone looking for the quick and dirty steps for this for PT12 (and likely 11 too):

1. Create a Track Presets (plural) folder under Documents / Pro Tools
2. Create your track preset sessions, select the tracks you want to have as part of the preset and Export them as a session to the folder you just created. HOWEVER, you need to put them in logical subfolders like maybe 2Bus, Vox, Cue, etc.....whatever.
3. Once saved, go to explorer or whatever it's called in Mac-land and change the file suffix from .PTX to .PTXT making it a template.
4. Now when you use the new track dialog, you'll see your subfolders listed under the track type drop-down and you can select any of your self-created presets from there.

Or use the AppleScript I wrote, thats Mac only of course. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2015, 11:06 AM
jimreeves jimreeves is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack (for window7 PT12HD+)

I figured out the PC/MAC difference. Create the "Track Presets" folder in the: User/Your Username/Documents/Pro Tools/ Track Presets. Not in the Programs(x86)/Avid/ Pro Tools folder.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2015, 11:19 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets hack

Would like to see this implemented by Avid please!!

Pls put this up front for all to use w/o work arounds
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2015, 07:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,113
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets

This was possible in PT11 as well. I wonder why it isn't an official feature yet. Especially as everyone at Avid must know we're using it already.

12.4 perhaps? Not holding my breath as I've been using this for ages.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2015, 01:07 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,666
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
This was possible in PT11 as well. I wonder why it isn't an official feature yet. Especially as everyone at Avid must know we're using it already.

12.4 perhaps? Not holding my breath as I've been using this for ages.
You're kidding - PT12 doesn't officially have this? You still have to do the workaround?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2015, 01:08 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: PT 12 Track Presets

I know it's ludicrous.... proTools 10 was the first version that I believe we could do this track preset with
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Presets [solved] jkeefauver Pro Tools 12 9 01-29-2018 10:36 AM
Track Presets Kenny Gioia Tips & Tricks 30 01-31-2014 05:33 PM
Track presets in 11? albee1952 Pro Tools 11 2 06-24-2013 05:37 PM
Track Presets!!! albee1952 Pro Tools 10 8 12-29-2012 09:13 PM
Track presets in PT??? dgkenney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 12-22-2009 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com