Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2015, 11:10 PM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Blue Screen Windows 7 - 003R Driver Crashing Possibly

Alright.

I have been losing my mind trying to figure out my recent computer problems. For the last week I have been getting BSOD with BAD_POOL_CALLER

Here is the Blue Screen code:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: c2
BCP1: 0000000000000007
BCP2: 0000000000001097
BCP3: 00000000040B00B8
BCP4: FFFFFA8020E04B90
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

I ran memtest the other day and had a few errors. Thinking that this was very likely a RAM error due to the BSOD and the error when running memtest, I took my computer to my local shop where I had purchased all the components. Sure enough, I had a faulty stick of RAM. They swapped out all my RAM for new stuff.

Machine was running great for the last day and a half. Then tonight I get another BSOD. Same error code as before. Since the latest crash, I can open Pro Tools 11 but loading most of my sessions will cause PT to totally freeze. Thought it might be a corrupt session that made it freeze so I created a new session and imported session data from "corrupt" session. Still freezes PT.

This is what I have tried:

I deleted all prefs/database using TRASHER.
All Windows 7 tweaks as per Avid. (first thing after fresh OS install).
Run PT as Admin.

Thought for sure that the new RAM had fixed everything. What else should I try?

Super frustrated. Spending way too much time dealing with computers instead of actually working!

Thanks for any help you can offer.
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4

Last edited by blizzard; 02-13-2015 at 10:48 AM. Reason: Change thread title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2015, 11:10 PM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : althor
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : OEM System Product Name
Serial Number : System Ser**********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS P9X79
Serial Number : 1311186********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 4608 12/24/2013
Total Memory : 32GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4820K CPU @ 3.70GHz (4C 8T 3.7GHz, 3.7GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 10MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA2011

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Ivy Bridge-E) DMI2 100MHz
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Ivy Bridge-E) Integrated Memory Controller 0 Target Address/Thermal Registers 100MHz, 4x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 256-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Crucial CMZ32GX3M4X1600C1 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : Crucial CMZ32GX3M4X1600C1 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : Crucial CMZ32GX3M4X1600C1 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600
Memory Module : Crucial CMZ32GX3M4X1600C1 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Samsung SyncMaster
(1680x1050, 22.0")
Monitor/Panel : Samsung SyncMaster
(1920x1080, 21.5")
Monitor/Panel : Samsung SyncMaster
(1920x1080, 21.5")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (5CU 960SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (5CU 960SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (5CU 960SP SM5.0 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (960SP 5C 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (960SP 5C 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (960SP 5C 1GHz/1.24GHz, 384kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 192-bit)

Storage Devices
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB (250GB, SATA600, SSD) : 233GB (F:)
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB (250GB, SATA600, SSD) : 233GB (E:)
WDC WD1001FALS-00E8B0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (G:)
KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA300/600, SSD) : 112GB (C:)
WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache) : 466GB (H:)
ASUS DRW-24F1ST a (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
SAMPLES 2 (F:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB (250GB, SATA600, SSD)
SAMPLES 1 (E:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB (250GB, SATA600, SSD)
SAMPLES 3 (G:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1001FALS-00E8B0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 112GB (NTFS) @ KINGSTON SV300S37A120G (120GB, SATA300/600, SSD)
PROJECTS (H:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 32MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ ASUS DRW-24F1ST a (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS Patsburg LPC Controller
Audio Device : ASUS Patsburg High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : ASUS GK106 HDMI Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 6800 [NV40.1]
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS Patsburg 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS Asmedia 106x SATA Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : ASUS Patsburg USB2 Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : ASUS ASMedia XHCI Controller
USB Controller 4 : ASUS ASMedia XHCI Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : ASUS VT6315 Series Firewire Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : Adaptec FW322/323 IEEE1394 OHCI FireWire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 2 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 3 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 1 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : HP Deskjet 5400 Series (600x600, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.3
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2015, 11:46 PM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

I was just able to open the same session in PT10 without any freezing. Everything seemed fine, though a little video stuttering with the video playing.

Go and try it again in PT11.3.0 and boom, it freezes.

Also I didn't clarify earlier, I'm using Pro Tools 11.3.0 and 10.3.9
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2015, 09:05 AM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

Apologies for replying to my own thread over and over, but it helps to have a running list of everything in one spot!

Going over the service log from my local shop, they ran memtest for five hours with no problems. They also ran Linpack Benchmark and Heaven Benchmark (for GPU) for two hours with no errors.

Also, if it helps in diagnosing the problem here, it seems like Pro Tools 11 keeps freezing up at the same point when loading a session. (Not all sessions seem to be causing the problem) it is always on an inactive audio track. Going to keep testing other sessions and see if there is a pattern to what will freeze and what won't.
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2015, 09:28 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

At what point in loading up a session with PT11 is it freezing up? You may have a corrupt plug-in. Try moving all of your plug-ins to the unused plug-in folder and then load up the problem session. If it loads up properly, then you will have to add plug-ins one (or a few) at a time to see which one is the problem. Kind of cumbersome, but troubleshooting is a process of elimination.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2015, 09:49 AM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

Interesting. Out of all the problems I've had with PT over the years (many) I have not yet encountered a corrupt plugin. I removed them all and the sessions loaded up fine! Going to try and find the offender now...
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2015, 09:59 AM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

As I was testing all my plugins, I successfully opened my sessions a few times, adding ten plugs at a time. Just had another BSOD.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: c2
BCP1: 0000000000000007
BCP2: 0000000000001097
BCP3: 00000000040B000A
BCP4: FFFFFA801942D620
OS Version: 6_1_7600
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:33 AM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

Alright I found the offending plug - it was Slate Digital VMR. I have been using just the Revival part and really digging it.

So, I uninstalled the plugin and opened a session. Everything loaded up fine. Then I reinstalled the plugin and PT froze again. So either the actual installer is corrupt (which is unlikely because the plugin it was working fine for a while), or I didn't completely uninstall the plugin? Is there registry entries that I should remove before reinstalling the plug?

So it seems that I likely have two separate problems happening.

1) A corrupt plugin that is causing PT to freeze
2) A BSOD issue

For now, removing the plug fixes the first issue. Awesome. I can do without the plug.

Now how to proceed with the BSOD issue? I know there is likely information in the mini dump files but I have no idea how to interpret them
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2015, 10:46 AM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 388
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

Did some sleuthing and used a program called WhoCrashed http://download.cnet.com/WhoCrashed/...-75205821.html to find more info.

This is what it found.

On Fri 2/13/2015 5:54:11 PM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\021315-16598-01.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: hal.dll (hal+0x2BC60)
Bugcheck code: 0xC2 (0x7, 0x1097, 0x40B000A, 0xFFFFFA801942D620)
Error: BAD_POOL_CALLER
file path: C:\Windows\system32\hal.dll
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: Hardware Abstraction Layer DLL
Bug check description: This indicates that the current thread is making a bad pool request.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in a standard Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver on your system that cannot be identified at this time.



On Fri 2/13/2015 5:54:11 PM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\memory.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: avid00rack.sys (Avid00Rack+0xCAE5)
Bugcheck code: 0xC2 (0x7, 0x1097, 0x40B000A, 0xFFFFFA801942D620)
Error: BAD_POOL_CALLER
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\avid00rack.sys
product: Avid FW Audio Driver (WDM)
company: Avid
description: Avid FW Audio Driver (WDM)
Bug check description: This indicates that the current thread is making a bad pool request.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
A third party driver was identified as the probable root cause of this system error. It is suggested you look for an update for the following driver: avid00rack.sys (Avid FW Audio Driver (WDM), Avid).
Google query: Avid BAD_POOL_CALLER

Not sure what to do about the Windows hal.dll but the Avid driver is going to be reinstalled right now. I'm using this driver 003_Rack_9_0_8_Win_81449

Should I be using something different?
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2015, 11:52 AM
mjslakeridge's Avatar
mjslakeridge mjslakeridge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Blue Screen Windows 7

What you have found is a little beyond my technical ability. Perhaps when you reinstall the Avid driver the hal.dll error will go away.
I guess the good news is that appears to be a software problem and not hardware related.
__________________
"Whiskey Bottle...Brand New Car...Oak Tree You're in my Way" RVZ

Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10, Windows XP Home SP3, AMD Phenom II 1045T Processor, Digi 002 rack , Command 8, Behringer ADA 8000, Tascam M-320B Mixer, Alesis Monitor Two Speakers, Vintage and Modern Tube Amps, Fender American Strat, 1973 Gibson SB-450 Bass, Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro, Roland W-30 Keyboard, Preimier XPK Fusion Drum Kit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Venue - Windows Blue Screen Jon Wong VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 10-21-2014 09:05 PM
Windows Blue Screen of Death justus1900 General Discussion 6 11-05-2013 11:41 AM
Pro tools se blue screen on windows 7 maxhb Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 07-16-2012 06:55 AM
Blue Screen and AMD Windows 7 PC yagga121 Pro Tools Software (Win) 5 02-28-2012 08:34 AM
Digi 003 and Windows XP Blue Screen hammster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-07-2009 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com