Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2014, 02:43 PM
New Hope Media New Hope Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 104
Default PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch

I've just installed PT11.3 on my Mac running OSX 10.10 Yosemite.
First let me say I've been running PT11.2.1 on Yosemite without any problems for the last two months.
However after installing PT11.3 when I open an existing ProTools session containg video I get a message that the AVID Video Engine is loading ... well waiting to load... but it times out and all I can do is load the session with the Video Engine OFF and, hence no video.

I'm not running any external video hardware, just displaying my video on the desktop.
I am running an older, non supported AVID 002R but it is working, and has been all along, with PT11.

My System is:
Late 2013 Mac Pro (dusbin)
MAC OSX 10.10
AVID 002R
PT 11.3
10TB LaCie Thunderbolt RAID
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2014, 04:33 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,451
Question Re: PT11.3 AVID and Video Engine

Is this still occurring after you quit and relaunch PT 11.3?

If so, please delete the PT 11.3 app, then run the installer again.

Please reply with your results.

Thanks,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2014, 07:52 PM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Default Re: PT11.3 AVID and Video Engine

Sorted after reinstall.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2014, 04:22 AM
StudioXander StudioXander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Aquamarijnlaan 112
Posts: 16
Default Re: PT11.3 AVID and Video Engine

I had the same problem. Trashing Pro tools and reinstalling it worked.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2014, 01:13 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,451
Exclamation Re: PT11.3 AVID and Video Engine

Thanks for that info. We identified an issue with the installer and are in the process of posting a fixed installer (same components, so no need to download and install again if you have already deleted PT and re-installed).

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2014, 01:55 PM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: PT11.3 AVID and Video Engine

Had the same problem on a MBP15. Trashing PT and reinstalling solved it.
Thanks
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2014, 11:34 PM
StudioXander StudioXander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Aquamarijnlaan 112
Posts: 16
Default Re: PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch

I'm still having issues with video playback like in the earlier versions of PT11. Sometimes I press play and the playback icon just blinks and it doesn't play. Pressing play again a couple of times doesn't work till maybe 5 seconds later and it plays again. Also had a few unrecoverable video errors.
Running with the latest blackmagic desktop video (10.3.2)
Was running PT11.2.1 without any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2014, 12:24 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioXander View Post
I'm still having issues with video playback like in the earlier versions of PT11. Sometimes I press play and the playback icon just blinks and it doesn't play. Pressing play again a couple of times doesn't work till maybe 5 seconds later and it plays again. Also had a few unrecoverable video errors.
Running with the latest blackmagic desktop video (10.3.2)
Was running PT11.2.1 without any problems.
Think it would be better to open a new thread for this issue as it seems unrelated to original post. Your more likely to get a solution on a new thread.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2015, 11:36 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 774
Default Re: PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by StudioXander View Post
I'm still having issues with video playback like in the earlier versions of PT11. Sometimes I press play and the playback icon just blinks and it doesn't play. Pressing play again a couple of times doesn't work till maybe 5 seconds later and it plays again. Also had a few unrecoverable video errors.
Running with the latest blackmagic desktop video (10.3.2)
Was running PT11.2.1 without any problems.

You're not alone, I've identified that Progressive DNxHD and Apple pro Res don't send video from Blackmagic to the TV, only interlaced video (talking about HD).

updated.
The system that have this problems is on Mavericks 10.9.4 and Pro tools HD 11.2.1, I've tried all drivers from Blackmagic since 9.5.3.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro

Last edited by Marco Bernardo; 01-04-2015 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2015, 12:37 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,601
Default Re: PT 11.3 hangs on Avid Video Engine during launch

Using HD 11.3 on OSX 10.10 and got lots of troubles with ProRes video as well. The whole session becomes completely jerky and sluggish on playback. Everything lags and PT is hardly usable like this. System usage shows less than 10% total.
When I disable the video engine, everything is running fine. Ridiculous.
__________________

Mac Pro 5,1 12-Core
- OSX 10.12.6
---
- Pro Tools HDN 2018.1.0
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Engine Won't Launch in Pro Tools 11 haudio Post - Surround - Video 10 11-23-2014 07:57 AM
Video Engine can't launch soundista Pro Tools 11 1 07-15-2014 04:52 PM
Waiting for the Video Engine to launch nicolasvandooren Post - Surround - Video 8 02-09-2014 02:32 PM
Video Engine Failing to Launch palmer_jankens Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-01-2008 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com