Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2014, 01:21 PM
rainsong rainsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 120
Default 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

When using Maschine, Kontakt or Massive (or probably others, I'm guessing) on an Instrument track, Delay Compensation does not happen properly. If I use it on an Audio or Aux track it seems okay.

This is confirmed by looking at the Mixer with Delay Compensation view on. The same plug in will have "0" in the delay column if it's on an Instrument track while it will have "1693" (or whatever the appropriate delay is) if it's on an Audio or Aux track. It becomes worse (further out of sync) when an audio track is in record.

If I copy the same plug from an Instrument track to an Audio or Aux track and solo both, they will flam.

Oddly, it doesn't happen with the Click II plugin...Delay Compensation seems to be fine with that plugin regardless of it being on an Instrument/Aux/audio track.

I'm on 11.2.1, OSX 10.9.3. Happens regardless of Playback Buffer settings.

Have also experienced latency weirdness on record that is solved by reloading the session.
__________________
2010 6-core Mac Pro, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.4, PT 11.2.1, RME Fireface UFX
2014 i7 4-core 15" MacBook Pro Retina, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.4, PT 11.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:05 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

I'm having hard time following this.

But Dly Comp seems okay over here with Instrument tracks. I even have a test session with Kontakt, Battery, massive and audio tracks playing together in sync. Auto report and user field option.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:10 PM
damasio damasio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Boston & Amsterdam
Posts: 61
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

So this announcement can be discarded?
http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/home...ugs-fixed.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:11 PM
damasio damasio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Boston & Amsterdam
Posts: 61
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intransit View Post
I'm having hard time following this.

But Dly Comp seems okay over here with Instrument tracks. I even have a test session with Kontakt, Battery, massive and audio tracks playing together in sync. Auto report and user field option.
Don't forget to use to route the instruments to multiple outputs in protools. That is where the trouble starts.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:17 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by damasio View Post
Don't forget to use to route the instruments to multiple outputs in protools. That is where the trouble starts.
Yes. I was one of the first to find the bug along with others and have been going back and forth with AVID. I have sessions with 7 kontakts all routed to instrument tracks and a test session I've been using for months. It all seems to working over here.

I have cues with 200+ instrument tracks that are playing fine. I even printed and played against printed tracks that were using the bypass auto report workaround.

I'm not saying it's not happening but I guess I'm concerned. But all seems okay over here. Others have reported it fixed with instrument tracks. Also a tech at Avid told me the only difference between Instrument and aux tracks is the midi.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:31 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Just to show I'm not being combative or making this up. This is my test session:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oyoblhiilc...ADC_11_2_1.png

It all plays sync'd. Auto report and the user field workaround sound the same now. With ADC off this sounds ridiculous.

Any chance there's something your doing that's causing this? I'm curious.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2014, 02:53 PM
rainsong rainsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 120
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Well...as I've been messing with this, I've found that if I control-command click the delay setting to bypass it on the Instrument track, it will play in sync with the same plugin on an Aux track. If not, it's a flam-fest.

Curious if I'm the only one experiencing this, and if so...why.

Screenshot with Delay Compensation on as normal: (flam fest)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/l6wqmb6qs6...s%20normal.png

Screenshot with reported delay turned off on the instrument track: (syncs perfectly)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/36yshk07rx...st%20track.png

And just to prove I'm on PT 11.2.1: :)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/siw92plniq...T%2011.2.1.png
__________________
2010 6-core Mac Pro, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.4, PT 11.2.1, RME Fireface UFX
2014 i7 4-core 15" MacBook Pro Retina, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.4, PT 11.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2014, 04:27 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Maybe it's machine?? I did the same thing with Kontakt here. Copied it and triggered with a midi track. It still sync'd adding a Kontakt on an aux.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/eze14wezsx...11_2_1%202.png
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2014, 04:32 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

I looks like it's not pushing the machine Inst track forward. Put a latency inducing plug on the Inst track… What happens?

I'm not an expert on why some tracks have a comp number and some don't. My test session has tracks without a comp number but it still sounds sync'd
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2014, 07:59 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: 11.2.1: Instrument Track delay compensation problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainsong View Post
When using Maschine, Kontakt or Massive (or probably others, I'm guessing) on an Instrument track, Delay Compensation does not happen properly. If I use it on an Audio or Aux track it seems okay.

This is confirmed by looking at the Mixer with Delay Compensation view on. The same plug in will have "0" in the delay column if it's on an Instrument track while it will have "1693" (or whatever the appropriate delay is) if it's on an Audio or Aux track. It becomes worse (further out of sync) when an audio track is in record.

If I copy the same plug from an Instrument track to an Audio or Aux track and solo both, they will flam.

Oddly, it doesn't happen with the Click II plugin...Delay Compensation seems to be fine with that plugin regardless of it being on an Instrument/Aux/audio track.

I'm on 11.2.1, OSX 10.9.3. Happens regardless of Playback Buffer settings.

Have also experienced latency weirdness on record that is solved by reloading the session.
FWIW...it's only the display reporting that's off...at least that's what i'm seein' in my testing. everything plays in sync when i test K5 or any other VI (so far). but if you look at the track where the VI is inserted and you start inserting plugins on other trax then you will see that the ADC reporting is properly reported on all trax except where a VI is inserted. even the multi-outs of that VI have proper reporting. and to take it one step further it 'appears' to be on only trax/sessions created in 11.2.1. if i open a session created from an earlier version the reporting seems accurate. but i'm not seein'/hearin' any outta sync issues with this version to date...
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Print To Track and Delay Compensation ngarjuna Pro Tools 9 4 08-23-2013 12:14 PM
Problem with delay compensation juh macOS 10 04-15-2013 06:04 PM
Delay Compensation + Master Track twix Pro Tools 9 10 08-27-2011 03:52 PM
delay compensation and video track dj_grimmace Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-15-2007 11:10 AM
delay compensation with video track dj_grimmace Post - Surround - Video 3 01-12-2007 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com