Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2014, 09:17 AM
Trailerman Trailerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 275
Default Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

Hi

I'm having serious problems getting delay compensation to work correctly on Aux Inputs, specifically where there is a plugin which is receiving realtime MIDI information.

The ProTools manual states clearly that in order to compensate for latency correctly in this situation, the user should disable latency compensation on the Aux channels in question, and then manually enter the system delay into the user offset field.

When I do this, the audio plays late (quite significantly). When I don't do this, the audio plays early.

Can anyone confirm this issue, or advise on a workaround?

Many thanks

Jules
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2014, 01:41 PM
treason treason is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 233
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

I can confirm same when bringing external HW Moog Audio into PT 11.1.2. My work around (not pretty) is to record a Virtual Synth (Arturia Moog) Audio using same MIDI onto a second audio track, then time align manually the HW Moog with that.

It does appear as if there are ADC and latency issues (unrelated) that need to be ironed out in PT11.

(sigh)
__________________
T-
-----
Waterstreet Studio Main: MacPro 2012 (12C@3.46GHz), 48GB, Apple/Samsung SSDs, WD Blacks. macOS 13.3
DSP & IO : Pro Tools HDX2(2018.3), 2x UAD Octo, HDIO 16x16 Analog IO(3), HDIO 16x16 Digital IO
Plugins: Avid, DMG Audio, Kush, oeksound, P'n'T, Plugin Alliance, Softube, SoundTheory, Sonnox, Sound Radix, SoundToys, UAD, VEP, etc
Hardware: API, Chandler, Hardy, Moog, Neve, Shadow Hills, Smart, Summit, TC Electronic M6000, UREI, etc
Microphones: Telefunken, Neumann, Shure, AKG
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2014, 03:24 PM
Intransit Intransit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 556
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by treason View Post
I can confirm same when bringing external HW Moog Audio into PT 11.1.2. My work around (not pretty) is to record a Virtual Synth (Arturia Moog) Audio using same MIDI onto a second audio track, then time align manually the HW Moog with that.

It does appear as if there are ADC and latency issues (unrelated) that need to be ironed out in PT11.

(sigh)
So many ADC issues in PT11. It doesn't work right with multi out VIs or Offline bounce.
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12-Core 2.4GHz RAM 48GB
Native 2018.3 HD_OSX 10.12.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2014, 07:23 PM
ECmaj7 ECmaj7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 37
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

The ADC bugs in PT11 have forced me go back to PT10, which is like trying to stand up in room with a 5 foot ceiling (32bit limits)
Better yet I've gone back to using Cubase and loving it.
Thank goodness I kept up to date with Cubase 7.5
Hey, if it's good enough for Hans Zimmer...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2014, 12:33 AM
Trailerman Trailerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 275
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

What's strange is, whenever I post about something that looks like it's a bug, others confirm it, and there is deafening silence from the mods or anybody connected with Avid.

Same thing happened when I posted here about MTC sync not working correctly. I posted details to Ideascale as well - not a dickybird.

Are we supposed to pay for support cases in order to report, flag, and get clarifiication on bugs? These are serious issues that affect the working porefessional's ability to operate, yet there is no flow of information between Avid and it's user-base, unless that user-base pays to connect with them.

Something's not right.

Jules
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:49 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trailerman View Post
Hi

I'm having serious problems getting delay compensation to work correctly on Aux Inputs, specifically where there is a plugin which is receiving realtime MIDI information.

The ProTools manual states clearly that in order to compensate for latency correctly in this situation, the user should disable latency compensation on the Aux channels in question, and then manually enter the system delay into the user offset field.

When I do this, the audio plays late (quite significantly). When I don't do this, the audio plays early.

Can anyone confirm this issue, or advise on a workaround?

Many thanks

Jules
Hi,

I can confirm. And no - I haven't found a good workaround beside recording stuff from external AudioSources (like HW-Synths) and nudge the recorded audio til it's "in the groove" again ...
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:16 AM
Trailerman Trailerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 275
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanswurstlsepp View Post
Hi,

I can confirm. And no - I haven't found a good workaround beside recording stuff from external AudioSources (like HW-Synths) and nudge the recorded audio til it's "in the groove" again ...
Thanks Steff. Good to know it's a confirmed bug.

I can't bounce unfortunately, because ProTools is responding to realtime automation coming from Logic on a different system, so I need delay compensation to work correctly.

I'll raise a support case with Avid as soon as I have time for this and the MTC sync issue you were kind enough to help with. I'm sick of waiting for Avid.

Jules
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2014, 03:00 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trailerman View Post
Thanks Steff. Good to know it's a confirmed bug.

I can't bounce unfortunately, because ProTools is responding to realtime automation coming from Logic on a different system, so I need delay compensation to work correctly.

I'll raise a support case with Avid as soon as I have time for this and the MTC sync issue you were kind enough to help with. I'm sick of waiting for Avid.

Jules
Well, "at the moment" im printing everything what's external to ProTool's AudioTracks and nudge them to have external sounds proper playing.
That's the only way "I think" to be sure that all tracks are "in the groove".

Never had those problems with TDM and PT10 ... at least I have not remarked that something was out of timing.
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2014, 08:39 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

I am experiencing this issue, and one which may be related and it's a real PITA. I too have had to use my midi tracks to output midi to an external synth and record that to an audio track...but I have found that if I turn off ADC during the print the tracks seems sync'd...

The issue I have that seems related is this: I like to use Superior Drummer 2 without printing it's tracks to audio and sending it's mixer outs to corresponding aux inputs. It works fine until I put a send on the aux track, for some verb or room on say the snare track. That track will be significantly delayed. Very workflow hostile.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2014, 06:56 AM
Trailerman Trailerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 275
Default Re: Aux Inputs and Latency Compensation - something's not right.

The problem with printing tracks is that you can't do that until the very end of the writing process. In the meantime, how do you write and mix, with half your tracks out of time?

I spend half my time tweaking manual delay offsets on all the tracks which a re affected by MIDI automation, because whenever a plugin is added or removed on the tracks in quesation, or on any other tracks, such that it affects overall system delays, or delays on a specific bus or group, you have to change all the manual offsets to reflect the changes.

It's a major PITA to the point where in some sessions which are heavily automated, it becomes almost unworkable.

Sorry to rant, but AVID really need to start taking these issues more seriously, engaging with their users, many of whom have invested tens of thousands in their products, in order to get things running smoothly. This simply isn't good enough.

Jules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Latency Compensation - PT 10 - Am I doing this right? gbross Pro Tools 10 4 11-30-2011 04:41 AM
Latency Compensation... mickeymassacre Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 01-24-2008 03:44 AM
Latency Compensation BluesBoySteve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 04-20-2006 02:59 AM
Aux Track Latency Compensation? TelosHedge Tips & Tricks 36 02-20-2006 12:52 AM
latency compensation JerryT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-27-2005 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com