Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2013, 10:28 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Default Pro Tools 11 Shutting Down When I Try To Save

I know I'm supposed to put an error message in the title line, but I'm not getting one.

Every time I try to save my session, it just quits on me. And several times after try to save a copy in, and then just randomly. No message, no spinning wheel, just shuts down. I did a completely clean install two days ago on a brand new, clean system SSD. It's a Samsun 840 Pro. My session is running off a brand new LaCie 1TB thunderbolt drive. I don't have much on my computer right now.

I've tried restarting and deleting PT preferences. Not helping.

I'm running a mid 2011 iMac 2.7GHz. Mountain Lion. 24GB of ram.

I noticed it really got bad when I started running Komplete 9 Ultimate.
I'm recording to the same drive my samples are stored on, could that be a problem? probably so.

I have a second internal drive, the one that came with my computer. I cloned it to my external drive. Haven't reformatted it yet to record onto, so thats why I'm recording to my external.

Any ideas of what might be causing this??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2013, 10:41 PM
mhmh mhmh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 501
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Shutting Down When I Try To Save

In this thread a similar problem is discussed.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=346597

What version of 11? Mountain Lion 10.8.4 or 10.8.5?

What happens with your CPU-Usage Meter while you save?
__________________
Mac Pro 2,4 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon (Westmere) 32 GB RAM, OSX 10.8.5, HD I/O 16x16 analog, HD I/O 16x16 digital, 192, PT HDX2, PT HD 10.3.8/ PT HD 11.1.3

www.pelhamundhaas.de
www.3-p.de
www.imglashaus.de
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2013, 11:03 PM
jaminjamesp jaminjamesp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Shutting Down When I Try To Save

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhmh View Post
In this thread a similar problem is discussed.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=346597

What version of 11? Mountain Lion 10.8.4 or 10.8.5?

What happens with your CPU-Usage Meter while you save?
no, thats not a similar problem. It could just be sitting there, no playback, and I'd hit apple s and it would crash. or even if i went to file>save it would crash.

now I have bigger problems. I was finally able to save a copy. I saved it to the same external drive. I opened it, made sure it worked then closed it. Then I went ahead and cleaned up my external drive, leaving only that file. I then went and reformatted the 2nd internal drive on my computer, so I could start recording to that. Now when I try to open my saved copy, I get a message that says the file cannot be opened because the alias is missing. 2 weeks of work gone. I'm running some data recovery software on my external drive in hopes that I can salvage the old session. 5 hours left on the scan of the disk. Lets hope something good happens.

I'm literally in full blown panic mode right now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2013, 12:52 AM
PMF Media PMF Media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 110
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Shutting Down When I Try To Save

What about your "Session Files Backup" folder stored within your root session folder along with the "Audio Files" folder and the session itself, is PT saving these backups automatically? if so, sort by date and open the last saved and see how you go.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools keeps shutting down Mbox2 Strebor24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-06-2009 03:00 PM
Pro Tools LE 7.0 shutting down after I hit a key on the keyboard colombianmike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-15-2008 11:44 AM
Pro Tools Keeps shutting down meshuggahmath 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-26-2007 09:57 PM
Kontact 2 with Pro Tools Shutting down jeroddumas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-29-2005 04:39 AM
Problems shutting down Pro Tools Eduardo Apolonia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 03-27-2001 05:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com