Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2013, 12:05 PM
Webern Webern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools Feature Analagous to Logic Studio's Quick Swipe Comping Phase-Locked Audio

I am working on a project in Logic 9 that involves quick swipe comping of phase-locked audio tracks. I won't go into the details but I have had many problems over many projects when they involve multi-mic phase-locked tracks that need to be comped in take folders. Logic is my first DAW, but I am becoming frustrated with unpredictable behavior with take folders (I also have a lot of problems with unpredictable behavior in flex time).

Does Pro Tools have an analogous function to Logic 9's "Quick Swipe Comping"? If so, what is it called?

Thanks,
-- Potential new user.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2013, 01:11 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Pro Tools Feature Analagous to Logic Studio's Quick Swipe Comping Phase-Locked Au

In a word, no.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2013, 08:07 PM
Webern Webern is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools Feature Analagous to Logic Studio's Quick Swipe Comping Phase-Locked Au

OK, thank you. Quick swipe comping is great when it works, I had hoped to find a less buggy implementation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2013, 10:31 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Pro Tools Feature Analagous to Logic Studio's Quick Swipe Comping Phase-Locked Au

If you're frustrated by some unpredictable behavior in Logic (been there, used it for 10 years), you should at least try comping tracks using ProTools playlists to see if you can find a workflow you like. What's the point of using a Logic feature based on what it should do reliably, but unfortunately doesn't?
__________________
HD Ultimate (Native), PT2019.5, 192, 3.2 Quad MacPro 5,1, 16 Gig, Sierra
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "swipe comping" work for MIDI tracks, or only audio? yeloop Pro Tools 11 2 07-24-2013 05:52 AM
Feature Request concerning Track Comping mhmh Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 03-06-2009 01:05 PM
PT8 new track comping feature deardaddy Post - Surround - Video 9 02-16-2009 01:39 PM
Anyone vocal comping with the new comp feature? PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-22-2008 11:03 PM
SampleCell is not tight/stereo phase locked at all fcqmax Digidesign Hardware & Software 8 09-15-1999 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com