Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2013, 02:38 PM
Miron02 Miron02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4
Default Database Internal Error, code 11

Noob, here guys. I purchased PT 11 about 2 months ago and it has been running fine with Macbook pro OS X 10.8.5. All of the sudden, on app launch, "Database Internal Error, code 11" pops up and quits Pro Tools on me. Any suggestions??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2013, 02:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,392
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miron02 View Post
Noob, here guys. I purchased PT 11 about 2 months ago and it has been running fine with Macbook pro OS X 10.8.5. All of the sudden, on app launch, "Database Internal Error, code 11" pops up and quits Pro Tools on me. Any suggestions??
Try deleting preferences and databases. Standard troubleshooting step start at the "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!" link above on this web page.

If that does not work does this only happen on a specific session?

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2013, 05:23 PM
Miron02 Miron02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Thanks for the response Darryl. I deleted the database (which contained nothing), but Pro Tools still wouldn't boot up. When I open pro tools, the avid/pro tools 11 window comes up like normal, and then freezes for a second or two on "initializing databases" before I get the error code 11. Where do you find the preference folder? This is really bumming me out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2013, 05:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,392
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miron02 View Post
Thanks for the response Darryl. I deleted the database (which contained nothing), but Pro Tools still wouldn't boot up. When I open pro tools, the avid/pro tools 11 window comes up like normal, and then freezes for a second or two on "initializing databases" before I get the error code 11. Where do you find the preference folder? This is really bumming me out.
The instructions are all in the same link above. You followed them exactly to delete the database? Follow the exact instructions for your exact OS. What exact files are you looking at (full filesystem path) that were empty?

What have you changed on your system? Automatic updates are disabled? is the system properly optimized for Pro Tools (all under that link above). Do every last thing described there.

Are there any other unusual/interesting/suspicious lookign errors from the system around the time this happens (look using Console.app).

Try creating an new administrator account and repeat tryign to start Pro Tools from there. If that does not work unisntall (use the clean option) and reinstall Pro Tools.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2013, 01:24 PM
Miron02 Miron02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

None of these worked for me. The only thing that I did before PT wouldn't work, was a Time Machine back up to an external hard drive. On that note the disk utility window looks a little fishy with Pro Tools under the column on the left.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 10.05.27 PM.jpg (20.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2013, 01:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,392
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miron02 View Post
None of these worked for me. The only thing that I did before PT wouldn't work, was a Time Machine back up to an external hard drive. On that note the disk utility window looks a little fishy with Pro Tools under the column on the left.
Nope that is just a Pro Tools .dmg installer image you have somewhere.

Nothing worked, not even a complete uninstall and reinstall of Pro Tools?


Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2013, 01:39 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Try this for deleting databases/preferences...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=340741

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2013, 02:26 PM
Miron02 Miron02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Thanks so much, after deleting the top 4 in that app, nothing changed. After I deleted them all, Pro Tools finally loaded and works. Thanks so much guys!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2013, 02:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,392
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miron02 View Post
Thanks so much, after deleting the top 4 in that app, nothing changed. After I deleted them all, Pro Tools finally loaded and works. Thanks so much guys!!
That is great it is working, and its is definitely a handy tool, but just FYI should be the same effect as having manually followed the instructions in the link above.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2013, 05:34 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: Database Internal Error, code 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
That is great it is working, and its is definitely a handy tool, but just FYI should be the same effect as having manually followed the instructions in the link above.
True, it doesn't do anything 'magic' it just gathers several things together in one place. Also, the link you refer to mentions the old unmaintained Pro Tools Pref helper and doesn't mention where the Pro Tools 11 support files are - they have different names and are in different places.

Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Database internal error, code 11 8dB.co.uk Pro Tools 11 2 01-07-2014 04:40 AM
Pro Tools 8: Activation code not working/Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy check) Mattmattmatty Windows 2 05-01-2013 04:26 AM
The product activation site is currently returning "database error" for all logins. corywest General Discussion 4 11-15-2009 11:54 PM
Music Production ToolKit 2 - Structure LE Database Error Razor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-21-2009 09:20 AM
DAE Error database -- where is it? pje_batchelor Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 10-29-2000 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com