Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2013, 11:40 AM
marcoegizi marcoegizi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Does anybody know if the new Mac OSX will be compatible with Pro Tools 9? I would love to upgrade but not if it jeopardies my software.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2013, 12:00 PM
sunburst79's Avatar
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,787
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcoegizi View Post
Does anybody know if the new Mac OSX will be compatible with Pro Tools 9? I would love to upgrade but not if it jeopardies my software.

Thanks!
Extremely unlikely.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2013, 01:32 PM
zoff zoff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 85
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
Extremely unlikely.
Why?
__________________
Mac OS X 10.9
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 MacBook Pro, 8 GB RAM
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Logic Pro 9.1.8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2013, 02:12 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,120
Arrow Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoff View Post
Why?
Third OS release since Snow Leopard, which is what Pro Tools v9 was coded for. The best thing for you to do is make a backup of your system when Mavericks ships and give Pro Tools v9 a try. If it works in any way, do not expect assistance from Avid with any issues.
__________________
-Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.8)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2013, 03:03 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 6,081
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcoegizi View Post
Does anybody know if the new Mac OSX will be compatible with Pro Tools 9? I would love to upgrade but not if it jeopardies my software.

Thanks!
Is there any reason you need to run Mavericks? Remember that those who live on the bleeding edge are doomed to be cut by it.
__________________
Jack
27" mid 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz quad core i7, 32 gig ram, OSX 10.8.5
2 TB internal drive, 2 TB Glyph GPT50 drive via Tbolt to FW800 for samples, 2 TB Glyph GPT50 FW800 drive for PT, 4 TB LaCie Tbolt drive backup

PT 10.3.9, PT 11.1.3 (backdated to from 11.2), 11R for audio I/O, MOTU MTPAV USB

Any musicman691 postings on non-PT related sites are NOT me

NRA Life Member

Never sacrifice who you are just because someone has a problem with it
Qapla!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2013, 11:02 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

As Mavericks isn't even OUT until later October, how would anyone even know if it's going to work with PTx without testing it out thoroughly on the released version?

And why are you in such a hurry to sort it out. I never understand these posts.

In other news, can anyone tell me if ProTools 12 is going to work with OSX 10.10 Santa Monica Pier?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2013, 11:23 AM
mastertstudio's Avatar
mastertstudio mastertstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 50
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Hi,
i use 10.9 (Beta 8) and PT 11.0.2 HD working !!!

Best.
__________________
Antonio Taccone
Master T Studio -
Mac Pro Nehalem 20gb ram - Pro Tools 11 HD - N° 2 HDX - C 24 - Mac Book Pro Retina 15" - 003 Rack - Pro Tools 11 HD - N° 2 Venue Profile with Foh rack - 2 HDx and 2 Stage Rack (96 Input Channels) - Profile with Mix Rack and Remote - Waves, Softube, Brainworx, etc etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2013, 08:07 AM
apollo116's Avatar
apollo116 apollo116 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Nassau Bahamas
Posts: 1
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

I have it working fine on my mac mini (late 2012) on Mavericks (pro tools mp 9.0) i havent had the chance just yet to do a full check up (recording session)... but ive been mixing a few tracks since last night... no hiccups.

i have to STRESS tho that this is still not safe yet...ill be back in the studio on sunday so ill update this post later that evening..or earlier if i go in..

Please dont make any major changes until its verified!!

Last edited by apollo116; 10-23-2013 at 08:09 AM. Reason: was in a rush & forgot something
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2013, 09:15 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 7,558
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mastertstudio View Post
i use 10.9 (Beta 8) and PT 11.0.2 HD working !!!
I use 10.9 (release) and PT 10.3.7 HD, not working. Or to be more exact, PT is working but it does not recognize my HD3 hardware but reverts to built-in outputs.
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:30 PM
marcoegizi marcoegizi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 and OSX Mavericks

Can you elaborate? How functional is Pro Tools? Worth the upgrade?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 for OS X Mavericks? datooch Pro Tools Software (Mac) 17 05-09-2014 11:25 PM
Pro Tools 10 for Mavericks is here!!! Touchwood Studios Pro Tools 10 Discussion 9 03-15-2014 06:00 PM
Pro Tools 10 on Mavericks? Dopamine Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 02-18-2014 09:21 PM
Pro Tools 11.0.3 / Mavericks David Whittaker Pro Tools 11 Discussion 15 01-12-2014 07:48 AM
Please HELP pro tools 10 and OS X mavericks bigsmokeproductions Pro Tools 10 Discussion 11 11-14-2013 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com