Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:39 AM
bgeorge03 bgeorge03 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 17
Default Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

I will be installing Protools 11 trial version in my laptop which already has Protools MP9 installed. When I install the Protools 11 trial, Will it delete the Protools MP9 version from laptop? Will I be able to use both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP9 from the same laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:45 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,124
Default Re: Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

You cannot have MP 9 or a 9 full version and 11 coinstalled. Uninstall MP 9 before installing the 11 trial. You can/should clone your boot/system drive and use that clone for the trial and revert back to the pre-clone later if you need to. Either way always have a backup.

Pro Tools 10.3.6 and Pro Tools 11 can be coinstalled, but there was magic done in 10.3.6 to allow that.

Darryl
__________________
Darryl | Wetware
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:52 AM
bgeorge03 bgeorge03 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 17
Default Re: Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

Thanks for your quick reply. If I purchase Protools 11, Will I be getting a free license & copy of Protools 10 too? I have few Pluggins in RTAS or AAX 32bit format like Native Instruments Elements which will not run in Protools 11 and I would like to use them. Hence I may be need to install both Protools 10 and Protools 11 till the Pluggin manufacturers release AAX 64bit versions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:59 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 6,124
Default Re: Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

Yes, Pro Tools 11 includes a Pro Tools 10 license.
__________________
Darryl | Wetware
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2013, 06:14 AM
bgeorge03 bgeorge03 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Chennai, India
Posts: 17
Default Re: Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

I am running Protools MP9 on Intel Core i7 laptop with Windows 8, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD 5400RPM. When I add compressor to audio track (Voice), it starts giving noise when playing the tracks. Should I need to upgrade the hard disk to 7200RPM to fix this issue? Will an upgrade to Protools 10 from Protools MP9 fix the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2013, 06:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,330
Default Re: Will I be install & run both Protools 11 trial and Protools MP 9 in same laptop

Only two different PT versions that you can co-install are the latest 10.3 and any 11.x versions
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools 11 Trial version on Mac Mini sanjeevpunj Getting Started 1 02-12-2014 01:28 AM
ProTools 11.0.3 Trial Mac When? geoff.mix Pro Tools 11 Discussion 2 01-12-2014 11:36 AM
new error when trying to install protools 6.9 on my laptop samuelowen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-06-2007 10:49 AM
PROTOOLS TRIAL ANYONE? Logicdance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-10-2006 03:32 AM
Protools M-Powered 30-day trial ericsmusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-14-2006 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com