Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2013, 06:31 AM
mm9135a mm9135a is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade Issues On Startup Launch.

Hi,

I just tried to upgrade to pro tools 11 from pro tools 10 (free student edition upgrade). I am using a Macbook Pro 15" i7 from late 2011/early 2012. I currently have a Digidesign mbox 2, but am thinking this hardware may be incompatible with the newest version of pro tools.

My main issue is, everything installed fine and I have the new license registered to my iLok but when I try to open a new session in Pro Tools 11 I receive this dialog box error:

Could not create a new document because Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/109543/AlturaPorts/DFW/MacBuild/../Views/UMenu.MacOS.mm", line 1357.

(Use the Copy button to copy this message to the clipboard.).

Also, If I try to open a session into 11, I get another error notifying me that:

“The current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44.1 kHz” (PTSW-127065)

Do you have any idea how I can resolve these issues? I would like to get 11 up and running but I have hit a wall at this point of the installation. I think I could figure out the playback engine issue on my own but the volume error dialog is beyond me. Does it have to do with some of my plug-ins I purchased that may be incompatible with the 64-bit system?

Please help me out guys! I am tying to have some fun during my break from university, and I need to practice my post production work.

Thanks,

-Mike M.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2013, 08:34 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 406
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade Issues On Startup Launch.

First off the Mbox 2 is supported for 11, I get the same error message for the Mbox 3 Pro. I don't know why that is, if I launch Pro Tools and create a new session or open an already created session same message appears, but not always.

I reinstalled the drivers after I updated to 10.3.6 and then installed 11, it seems to work so far but that message appears from time to time, although I have no solid solution now I would say try to reinstall the drivers and the see what happens when you launch the session from your recording hard drive (or where you keep your sessions)
__________________
"Whatever you lack for in knowledge, you make up for in effort"

Live Sound Reinforcement Engineer
Recording and Mix Engineer

http://soundcloud.com/13guatamas13

Dell Optiplex 780 e8400 Core 2 duo 3.3Ghz
Windows 7 64-Bit Pro
16GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro NVS 450
Mbox 2 Factory Bundle
Mbox 3 Pro
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Pro Tools 11.0.2
Axiom Pro 61
JBL LSR 2328P Monitors
Tannoy Reveal Monitors/Hafler Power Amp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2013, 12:01 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 3,834
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade Issues On Startup Launch.

Sounds like a driver issue. When launching PT, hold down the "N" key and select another device. See if that makes a difference.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com/Gatesstory/...home_page.html
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, 10.8.3, 8 GB RAM, PT10.3.6, PT11, 002 rack, MC Control V2, 3.0 software, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM1100 16 track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2013, 04:09 AM
designweb designweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Brighton
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade Issues On Startup Launch.

I am having the same problem, everything worked fine yesterday after i first installed everything, but when I booted up this morning I ran into the same problem. The Mbox Pro 3 is working ok because I loaded up Reaper and PT 10 with no problems. Also I tried pressing N and chose the internal interface and PT 11 worked with no issues.
Do I need to clear the cache or something?

I am going to re-install the Mbox Drivers and see if that works, but if anyone could shed some light it would be most appreciated.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2013, 04:06 AM
guatamas guatamas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 406
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade Issues On Startup Launch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by designweb View Post
I am having the same problem, everything worked fine yesterday after i first installed everything, but when I booted up this morning I ran into the same problem. The Mbox Pro 3 is working ok because I loaded up Reaper and PT 10 with no problems. Also I tried pressing N and chose the internal interface and PT 11 worked with no issues.
Do I need to clear the cache or something?

I am going to re-install the Mbox Drivers and see if that works, but if anyone could shed some light it would be most appreciated.

Thanks
If your on a windows machine you need to disable the mbox as a playback device
Control Panel/Hardware and Sound/Sound Playback/Recording tabs

right-click the mbox (if you have the latest drives it might be something like analog 1-2, regardless disable all of the) and choose disable

When you launch Pro Tools 11 you will no longer get the unsupported playback error message. The downside to having to do this is that when you want to listen to music through iTunes you have to re-enable the mbox in the playback menu
__________________
"Whatever you lack for in knowledge, you make up for in effort"

Live Sound Reinforcement Engineer
Recording and Mix Engineer

http://soundcloud.com/13guatamas13

Dell Optiplex 780 e8400 Core 2 duo 3.3Ghz
Windows 7 64-Bit Pro
16GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro NVS 450
Mbox 2 Factory Bundle
Mbox 3 Pro
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
Pro Tools 10.3.7
Pro Tools 11.0.2
Axiom Pro 61
JBL LSR 2328P Monitors
Tannoy Reveal Monitors/Hafler Power Amp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Student Upgrade AxeDye Pro Tools 11 Discussion 541 08-01-2014 10:06 PM
Pro Tools 10 or 11 upgrade for Full Sail Student? BarkingWaffle27 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 0 01-15-2014 06:13 PM
Can't use Pro Tools 10 after student upgrade to 11 Jahankeykong Pro Tools 11 Discussion 3 08-23-2013 02:12 PM
Pro Tools 11 Upgrade when You have a Student Version of 10 Qali Pro Tools 11 Discussion 2 05-17-2013 11:36 AM
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 04-12-2012 08:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com