Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2013, 07:46 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Crazy, but true....I updated to 10.3.6 and lost headphone output. However, if I turn off LowLatency, the headphone output works again, however it has the latency, which renders it useless for me. Any idea what happened?
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2013, 09:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,625
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Just set your playback buffer to 64. I work that way for all tracking(haven't used LLM in years).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2013, 01:14 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Hi Dave. Yeah, I've got that work around, but don't understand what happened in the update that would cause the issue. Weird.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2013, 07:26 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

STILL no answers as to why, after updating to PT 10.3.6, I have lost headphone output while in Record. I used to be able to track like this, but something has changed. I'm not looking for a workaround, but rather a fix to get it back the way it used to be.

Anyone?
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2013, 11:10 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Trashed prefs & databases per AVID, but no help. #hmmm
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2013, 12:16 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

I also ran into this. The behavior seems to vary from update to update. I've got a current post on the subject, but I'm surprised how many people seem satisfied with 32 & 64 sample buffer sizes. That doesn't work if you're using VI's in PT10, for one thing, and also I still find it unacceptable for singing. My post has been met with a pretty resounding silence(!).

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=341564

You see the post is basically asking if it's been "fixed" in PT11, but it's striking that hardly anybody has responded--
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:11 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Exactly! I don't like working with a buffer size so low and I dislike the work stoppage when the system has an issue due to such. I know a couple others who are dealing with this issue, yet I have not seen any posts other than ours. I let AVID know about it and they said trash prefs/databases maybe reinstall PT and update drivers for my 003R - all has been done more than once with no improvement.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:21 PM
bashville bashville is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

It's not just your 003. My sig lists my TDM rig, but I switch over to an HD-Native card sometimes.
__________________
HD Ultimate (HD Native), PT2019.12, OWC PCI-ext. TB2, Blue 192, 2018 MacBook Pro, 32 Gig, Mojave 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:26 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

Very good to know - thank you. It sure seems like it could be an easy fix but with nobody talking about it, we may go unnoticed. I do the intro for the Pro Tools Expert Podcast and one of the guys there has the same issue. Fingers are crossed that it gets fixed quickly........
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-2013, 07:37 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 251
Default Re: Headphone Output No Longer Working After 10.3.6 Update

I find AVID's lack of response to their bugs very disappointing. If I did this with my business, I'd be OUT of business. I just don't get it.
__________________
Brian on the Florida Suncoast
TheVoiceofBrian.com

iMac 5K 4.0GHz i7 Quad-Core, 24Gigs RAM, Radeon M295X, 1TB SSD, ThunderBay 4 w/2TBSSD, ThunderDock, OS 10.14.4, ProTools 2020, Avalon M5, Focusrite Clarett2Pre, Sennheiser 416,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coreaudio on Mac Pro no longer working after latest PT 10.3.2. Update jdholman1 macOS 2 11-13-2012 10:32 AM
No headphone jack output - Meters showing output Hotcrazyfruit Eleven Rack 6 05-06-2012 12:09 PM
SD2 no longer working albee1952 The Drum Room 13 02-24-2012 08:22 AM
Eleven Rack: Headphone Output Impedance & Amp Output Tech Specs MR290378 Eleven Rack 12 11-29-2011 05:10 PM
alt-tab no longer working xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-23-2005 10:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com