Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:23 PM
Syrcular Syrcular is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 33
Default Codec error on video import

Hey all,

Just downloaded Pro Tools 11 on my MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion and trying to import video into Pro Tools, and I can't seem to get it working. I cross checked to make sure I was getting the right video file specs and codecs, but nothing seems to allow me to import video into Pro Tools 11. I get an error that says this: "Unable to link to file "<file name>" due to either a missing CODEC or the file may be unsupported". This happens no matter if I use DNxHD, H.264, XDCAM or Pro Res 422 files all wrapped in a Quicktime file.

What am I missing? I believe I have all the playback engine settings set correctly. Please advise. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 3,538
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrcular View Post
Hey all,

Just downloaded Pro Tools 11 on my MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion and trying to import video into Pro Tools, and I can't seem to get it working. I cross checked to make sure I was getting the right video file specs and codecs, but nothing seems to allow me to import video into Pro Tools 11. I get an error that says this: "Unable to link to file "<file name>" due to either a missing CODEC or the file may be unsupported". This happens no matter if I use DNxHD, H.264, XDCAM or Pro Res 422 files all wrapped in a Quicktime file.

What am I missing? I believe I have all the playback engine settings set correctly. Please advise. Thanks!
Stupid question but did you check the "install video engine" when installing PT11? I am just asking as we did miss that the first time around

Best Wishes
Chris
__________________
-------------------------------------
Main Studio Room
MAC Pro Quad Core 32 GB RAM
MBPro Quad i7 16 GB 2 x SSD
PT HD11 & HD10 - Apollo Quad
Pro Tools HDN HD 8x8x8 i/o
Avid ICON D-Control ES 32


Production // Writing Room
Avid Artist Mix x 2
Avid Artist Control x 1
Avid Artist Transport x 1
-------------------------------------

South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2013, 05:50 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,285
Question Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Stupid question but did you check the "install video engine" when installing PT11?
Setup-->Playback Engine-->Video Engine enabled?
__________________
-Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.9)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:08 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 3,538
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Technician View Post
Setup-->Playback Engine-->Video Engine enabled?
Thank you for that it did it for us

Awesome support as usual Avid techs! Big Thumbs Up!

Best Regards
Chris
__________________
-------------------------------------
Main Studio Room
MAC Pro Quad Core 32 GB RAM
MBPro Quad i7 16 GB 2 x SSD
PT HD11 & HD10 - Apollo Quad
Pro Tools HDN HD 8x8x8 i/o
Avid ICON D-Control ES 32


Production // Writing Room
Avid Artist Mix x 2
Avid Artist Control x 1
Avid Artist Transport x 1
-------------------------------------

South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:33 PM
JMDNYC JMDNYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 208
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Do you have any more troubleshooting ideas? I just installed Pro Tools 11 on a Mac Mini with HDMI out to a Sony TV. Quicktimes which play fine on my main system just show up as a black window on the mini. I'm also getting occasional "Segmentation fault" errors on quitting and the missing codec warning.

Video engine is on; Avid Codec's are installed. Quicktimes play fine when opened in Quicktime player, just not in Pro Tools.

Thanks.

EDIT: Figured it out, I think. In the System Requirements it says 8GB RAM required for Video Playback, the mini only has 4GB. That would also explain the "Segmentation Error." Carry on, nothing to see here.

Last edited by JMDNYC; 06-22-2013 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:28 PM
Syrcular Syrcular is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 33
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Hi all,

RE: "Installing Video Engine". This Pro Tools 11 install was just a drag and drop according to install instructions so I literally dragged the Pro Tools icon from the install image to applications. So I didn't see any install video engine option.
However, I did enable the video engine, but anything I try and import comes back as incompatable. This is the trial version I downloaded, but to my understanding it's a fully functioning version for 30 days according to Avid.

Is there anything in the import process I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2013, 12:33 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,285
Question Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrcular View Post
Is there anything in the import process I'm missing?
What codec was used for these movies? Are they reference movies (a few hundred KB in size) or self-contained movies? Where are you trying to import them from?
__________________
-Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.9)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:06 PM
Righty27 Righty27 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 580
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrcular View Post
Hi all,

RE: "Installing Video Engine". This Pro Tools 11 install was just a drag and drop according to install instructions so I literally dragged the Pro Tools icon from the install image to applications. So I didn't see any install video engine option.
However, I did enable the video engine, but anything I try and import comes back as incompatable. This is the trial version I downloaded, but to my understanding it's a fully functioning version for 30 days according to Avid.

Is there anything in the import process I'm missing?
Yes - drag Pro Tools into the applications folder. Not sure if this is the missing step but there were a few extra folders, one of which contained an installer for video codecs (which I ran). When I tested (by dragging a video file into the edit window), I was prompted to enable the video engine (which was 'off' - nice touch!)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:05 PM
Syrcular Syrcular is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 33
Default Re: Codec error on video import

As far as codecs, I've tried DNxHD, ProRes 422, H.264 and XDCAM 422 all in Quicktimes. None of which are working. I installed everything that came with the Pro Tools 11 download.
One thing to note...I can import these videos in Pro Tools 10 no problem on the same machine. But when I open Pro Tools 11, I get the codec error. I've tried reinstalling a few times, and uninstalling and re-installing Pro Tools 10 on the same machine, thinking maybe there was a conflict their, and I'm still not able to import video into PT 11.

Any suggestions? Is everyone able to import video no problems in PT 11?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:14 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 758
Default Re: Codec error on video import

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syrcular View Post
As far as codecs, I've tried DNxHD, ProRes 422, H.264 and XDCAM 422 all in Quicktimes. None of which are working. I installed everything that came with the Pro Tools 11 download.
One thing to note...I can import these videos in Pro Tools 10 no problem on the same machine. But when I open Pro Tools 11, I get the codec error. I've tried reinstalling a few times, and uninstalling and re-installing Pro Tools 10 on the same machine, thinking maybe there was a conflict their, and I'm still not able to import video into PT 11.

Any suggestions? Is everyone able to import video no problems in PT 11?
Having exactly the same problems. DNxHD MXFs come up as CODEC missing, ProRes and other QuickTimes just have a black screen. 8GB of RAM too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error message when trying to import a video to a session cedlil Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 03-03-2014 10:11 AM
Solving a Codec Error when importing video Dizz Tips & Tricks 0 10-04-2013 05:14 PM
Import Video error -2015 matt connolly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-28-2009 04:57 PM
IMPORT VIDEO ERROR Audio FILE alx002 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-01-2008 12:31 PM
Video import Error SteveH44 Pro Tools Post & Surround 0 09-10-2008 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com