Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2013, 05:45 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 825
Default How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

Hello,

I finally purchased(for the second time) the PT HD7.4 Upgrade(includes free HD8). I had done the HD7.4 Upgrade years back before the free HD8 amnesty offer.

So here's my question; I've gone ahead and partitioned my hard drive with PT HD7.4.2 on one partition and I will be installing PT HD8 on the "cloned" partition. After making the transaction on the Avid store earlier, I went to ilok.com and see that I have "pending" licenses which need to be installed on my ilok. Now here's what I don't understand; my ilok already contains licenses for PT HD 7 and a bundle with both PT HD7.3 and HD 7.4. Now I have a newly purchased license/s for another bundle for PT HD7.3 and HD7.4(am awaiting Avid support to send me info on my free upgrade to PT HD8).

So I attempted to install the new pending bundle(PT HD7.3 and PT HD7.4) licenses on my ilok but the ilok.com message says this will replace the existing PT HD7.3 and HD7.4 licenses.

I felt unsure of this, since I already have PT HD7.4.2 running fine on it's partition and really just want to install PT HD8 on the other partition. I don't want to mistakingly forfeit a license/s I may need.

Anyone explain this process to me?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2013, 10:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,613
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

Hi,

traditionally one iLok key wasn't able to hold two same licenses, which is what you're trying to do here. I'm not sure when that changes but it will.

Currently though, if you see a "pending" license it just means that iLok system is aware that you have two copies but the key itself only has one. If you choose to put in another key to your account, you can move that "pending" license to the new key and there's not going to be any problem because iLok knows you have two and then the pending one will just be written to the second key.

Confusing, yes. Problem, no.

You can start using that 7.4.2 right away. There is no special license for it, you only need 7.4 which you already have.
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2013, 03:22 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 825
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

Hey thanks JFreak!

Ok, so I should just put that new pending HD7.4 license on another ilok(which I already have) and the transfer should work without any forfeit issues?

My main concern is with having an intact license for HD7.4.2 and for HD8. So when Avid finally deposits the license for HD8 into my ilok.com account, I can deposit it into one of the two iloks I have(I assume I will forfeit one of the two HD7.4 licenses) and then have the ability to run either HD7.4.2 or HD8.

Is this the correct scenario or will I run into some unknown issues trying to do this?

Thanks again!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2013, 04:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 8,613
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

That is exactly how it goes. If you do not like that some of your licenses are pending, just register a new iLok to your account and download that spare license to the second key. That way nothing is pending, and once you have that upgrade license, you can just surrender one of those depending which key you have inserted.
__________________
Janne -- what we do in life, echoes in eternity
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2013, 05:26 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

fyi - The iLok.com website is undergoing significant changes.
Downtime is projected to be 24 hours or less.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...76#post2045676

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2013, 08:12 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 825
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

Thanks guys!

Gotcha on ilok.com. I'll check tomorrow to see if there up any sooner than 6:00PST. If not, it will have to be Monday. Hopefully by then I have the license and download info for PT HD8.
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2013, 02:52 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 825
Default Re: How to install new pending license on ilok(HD7.4 to HD8)

Ok, still no email or notification from Avid about the free PT HD8 license and download link. How long does this take? Ilok.com is back up. I'm beyond anxious to finally try PT HD8.

Do I need to contact someone about not automatically getting this with the HD7.4 license/registration? I emailed the Avid store and their reply is that they don't get involved with free upgrades, to contact Avid.

Anyone??
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install iLok license manager Buses Pro Tools Software (Win) 5 11-17-2013 02:46 PM
Do not install until you have read the " ilok License Manager & HD11 Upgrade " thread Barry Johns Pro Tools 11 Discussion 0 06-21-2013 03:44 PM
Pending License in my iLok account PT 8 M-Power Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-11-2012 01:16 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 Discussion 10 09-25-2012 06:22 AM
iLok Question: Move Pending License Jason Kardong Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-23-2009 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com