Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2013, 10:00 PM
xStix99x xStix99x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
Default Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I'm a sound assistant for a studio, and they put me in charge of finding a control console that will be put in the new dub stage. They want to have the new Pro Tools 11 system integrated on the stage, but they were unsure of how the avid D-command and D-control boards work with the new pro tools. Here is what I need to know if anyone has any idea:

1.Will an AVID C24 work with PT 11? What PT would I need (HD, HD Native, HDX)?

2.Will a Digidesign Control 24 (The older models) work with PT 11? What PT would I need (HD, HD Native, HDX)?

3.What setup would you recommend for a dub stage that is looking to buy whatever they can secondhand?

Please be as detailed as you want, and I thank anyone in advance who can give me some answers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2013, 09:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,379
Default Re: Control 24/C24 and Pro Tools 11

C24 will work with 11 and all versions you mentioned. Control24 will not be supported(which doesn't mean it WON'T work, but nobody knows yet). You might be better off with a couple of Artist Mix fader packs and an Artist Control(which is cheaper than a used C24). D-Command and D-control should both be fine with 11.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:07 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 846
Default Control|24 with Pro Tools HD 11?

I have an original Control 24 and I know its not officially supported but fingers crossed it will still work. $600 is a lot to spend to find out afterwards...

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-17-2013 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Moved from CPTK thread for visibility.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:23 PM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,814
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

The Control|24 is listed under the category "Not Officially Supported Audio Interfaces and Peripherals (Untested)". So we don't know that it will or will not work for certain, but it is not listed as "Definitely will not work". Wish I could be more exact, but as it says, untested.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-22-2013 at 01:08 PM. Reason: Compatibility docs have been updated to reflect that Control|24 will not work with Pro Tools 11.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:42 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 846
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

So the key questions are:
1) Why wouldn't Avid at least TRY to see if the Control 24 works so you can at least let us know?
2) Which Driver for the Control 24 will I want to use? The latest one from my PT 10 Native+CPTK 2 upgrade?

Thanks for the help Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:54 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,272
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus44uk View Post
So the key questions are:
1) Why wouldn't Avid at least TRY to see if the Control 24 works so you can at least let us know?
2) Which Driver for the Control 24 will I want to use? The latest one from my PT 10 Native+CPTK 2 upgrade?

Thanks for the help Bruce
Hi,

As the Control 24 is EOL Avid won't make any official statement as to whether it works or not or whether its been working during beta. were on our own now and until someone boots PT11 with a control 24 and posts on the forum we won't know!! If the driver is not bundles with PT11 then i guess we try the latest with that will come with PT 10.3.5 Stay tuned

Lets hope it works unless you want to see a grown man cry


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2013, 01:59 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 846
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

As the Control 24 is EOL Avid won't make any official statement as to whether it works or not or whether its been working during beta. were on our own now and until someone boots PT11 with a control 24 and posts on the forum we won't know!! If the driver is not bundles with PT11 then i guess we try the latest with that will come with PT 10.3.5 Stay tuned

Lets hope it works unless you want to see a grown man cry


Chris

If it doesn't work...I'm stuck with PT 10 + CPTK 2 then...NO WAY I am spending the £4k to buy a C24 when my Control 24 works perfectly...still wish they would have at least asked someone beta testing PT11 with a Control 24 to test it...how hard would that be...heck..I'd offer to test it before I cough up $599!!!

And 003R is EOL as well but they tested that !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2013, 02:08 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,392
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus44uk View Post
...still wish they would have at least asked someone beta testing PT11 with a Control 24 to test it...how hard would that be...heck..I'd offer to test it before I cough up $599!!!
It seems it would be less responsible to claim support/compatibility solely based on 1 beta tester's experience. I don't have definitive word on this yet, but following the example of the PT10 Trial I would anticipate availability of a PT11 Trial which would allow you to try it on your own system before purchasing.

Quote:
And 003R is EOL as well but they tested that !
True they are both EOL, but keep in mind the timing of these products...
Control|24 - Last Sale date 12/31/2007 - End of Support 12/31/2012
003 - Last Sale Date 3/31/2011 - End of Support 3/31/2016
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ

Last edited by Bruce Paine; 07-02-2013 at 10:42 AM. Reason: Note: Pro Tools 10 Trial no longer available.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-16-2013, 02:13 PM
markus44uk markus44uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 846
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

A Trial of PT 11 would be a blessing...how would that work logistically? Purchase for $599, download and test and if it doesn't work I submit for a refund?

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-16-2013 at 02:18 PM. Reason: Clarified previous post... see http://www.avid.com/Trial/ProTools
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-16-2013, 02:14 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,205
Default Re: Control|24 with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus44uk View Post
A Trial of PT 11 would be a blessing...how would that work logistically? Purchase for $599, download and test and if it doesn't work I submit for a refund?
Just like they've done in the past. Request the demo. Get a temporary ilok license. Download the software and see what happens. If it works and you like it, you buy a permanent license to replace the temporary one. Swap licenses and you're good to go.
__________________
2009 Mac Pro - Dual X5650 Xeon 6-core 2.66Ghz procs, 48GB of Ram, SATA 3 and USB 3.0 PCIe cards. R9 280X video card. macOS Sierra. Harrison Mixbus 32C, Studio One 3, Reaper, and pro tools 12 when I have to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 11:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com