Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2013, 10:25 AM
leobaker leobaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Hello,

I have a MacBook pro

13-inch: 2.5 GHz
2.5GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
4GB 1600MHz memory
500GB 5400-rpm hard drive
Intel HD Graphics 4000

Audio Drive: Glyph GT050Q Firewire 800
I am running Pro Tools 10.3.4, however I did not do a backup of my machine with Timemachine so I can't go back to the supported 10.8.2. of Mountain Lion.

The hard drive will stop me downgrading to 10.8.2 as it has a recovery partition on the drive.

So my questions.

1. Does anyone know if 10.8.3 is supported by Avid for the latest Pro Tools 10.3.4?

2. Also I am in pro Tools not doing anything then I will get random crash saying Unexpected error and Pro Tools closes. I had the same issue on 10.8.2 also. I did the optimisation guide such as putting my hard drives so they are not indexed by spotlight as well as turning off wifi, fire wire in the network settings as well as the power and screen saver settings.

Thanks,

Leo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2013, 01:31 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 9,864
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by leobaker View Post
Hello,

I have a MacBook pro

13-inch: 2.5 GHz
2.5GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
4GB 1600MHz memory
500GB 5400-rpm hard drive
Intel HD Graphics 4000

Audio Drive: Glyph GT050Q Firewire 800
I am running Pro Tools 10.3.4, however I did not do a backup of my machine with Timemachine so I can't go back to the supported 10.8.2. of Mountain Lion.

The hard drive will stop me downgrading to 10.8.2 as it has a recovery partition on the drive.

So my questions.

1. Does anyone know if 10.8.3 is supported by Avid for the latest Pro Tools 10.3.4?

2. Also I am in pro Tools not doing anything then I will get random crash saying Unexpected error and Pro Tools closes. I had the same issue on 10.8.2 also. I did the optimisation guide such as putting my hard drives so they are not indexed by spotlight as well as turning off wifi, fire wire in the network settings as well as the power and screen saver settings.

Thanks,

Leo
Hi,

10.8.3 is not mentioned on the qualified pages dates 14th March on says upto 10.8.2

Do you get any crash logs? User /library/Logs

What is this "Turbo boost" I guess some kind of over clocking?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2013, 05:22 AM
leobaker leobaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Hello Chris,

Yes the annoyng things is that 10.8.2 got updated automatically by APple to 10.8.3. I can't get the 10.8.0 installer from them only the latest 10.8.3 when using Internet recovery on my Macbook Pro. I think it may be like some overclocking but never seen how to turn it on and how it is enabled.

Here is the crash log using Google Drive as when I tried to paste onto here it said it was to long.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

Thanks,

Leo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2013, 09:21 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 9,864
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by leobaker View Post
Hello Chris,

Yes the annoyng things is that 10.8.2 got updated automatically by APple to 10.8.3. I can't get the 10.8.0 installer from them only the latest 10.8.3 when using Internet recovery on my Macbook Pro. I think it may be like some overclocking but never seen how to turn it on and how it is enabled.

Here is the crash log using Google Drive as when I tried to paste onto here it said it was to long.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

Thanks,

Leo
Hi,

Nothing specific in the crash log!

Are all your plugins up to date?

How often are the quits?

every session? even new sessions? or just one session?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.7 Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 Harpertown 8-core UAD-2 Quad / SSL Duende Native. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2013, 12:57 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 6,501
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by leobaker View Post
Hello Chris,

Yes the annoyng things is that 10.8.2 got updated automatically by APple to 10.8.3. I can't get the 10.8.0 installer from them only the latest 10.8.3 when using Internet recovery on my Macbook Pro. I think it may be like some overclocking but never seen how to turn it on and how it is enabled.

Here is the crash log using Google Drive as when I tried to paste onto here it said it was to long.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

Thanks,

Leo
Lesson to be learned here - turn off automatic updates on your Mac. OSX will not update on it's own when you do that.
__________________
Jack
27" mid 2011 iMac, 3.4 GHz quad core i7, 32 gig ram, OSX 10.8.5
2 TB internal drive, 2 TB Glyph GPT50 drive via Tbolt to FW800 for samples, 2 TB Glyph GPT50 FW800 drive for PT, 4 TB LaCie Tbolt drive backup

PT 10.3.9, PT 11.2.1, 11R for audio I/O, MOTU MTPAV USB

Any musicman691 postings on non-PT related sites are NOT me

NRA Life Member

Never sacrifice who you are just because someone has a problem with it
Qapla!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2013, 01:22 PM
leobaker leobaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

I agree, lesson to be learnt don't let Apple control your updates. I should of really did a timemachine backup. I presumed I could always go back to 10.8.0 then put the updates over the top like I used to with my Snow Leopard disc.

I tried with no plugins, just the Pro Tools as it is, turned off screen saver, power saving, and the Bluetooth, firewire network, as well as repaired permissions before and after I installed Pro Tools.

It seems to happen every session it could crash as it's loading, or 5 secs after it has loaded or just random out of the blue when I am not doing anything or I could be trimming a piece of audio on the timeline.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2013, 02:40 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Europe
Posts: 658
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

leobaker,

what musicman691 wrote is correct. Avoid the automated updates. Try to run the OS X 10.8.3 Combo Updater from Apple on top of your current install. If this doesn't help then you will have to re-install 10.8.3 from scratch I am afraid as it should work just fine with PT 10.3.4.


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2013, 02:53 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 681
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by leobaker View Post
I had the same issue on 10.8.2 also.
I don't see how this is a 10.8.3 issue if it was also happening on 10.8.2 according to the OP. Definitely turn off auto-updates, but I doubt that had anything to do with this particular problem.

To the OP: With only 4gb of RAM make sure you aren't using RAM cache since you barely have enough memory to run Pro Tools & the Mac OS, and avoid having any other apps open if at all possible. I'd highly suggest upgrading to at least 8gb if you can. When the computer runs out of memory, really strange (and sometimes potentially damaging) things can happen.
__________________
-----
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2384808/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2013, 03:53 PM
leobaker leobaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 19
Default Re: Mountain Lion 10.8.3 With Pro Tools 10.3.4 Issue

Thanks Oliver, I am going to give that a try now thank you. Yes I am not using the ram cache. I should of really got the next model up with the MacBook pro with the 8gb of ram. I am only doing basic dialogue editing of the waveforms and voice over and music for students voice reels.

Thanks,

Leo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
Pro Tools 9.0.6 on Mountain Lion Issue leobaker Pro Tools Software (Mac) 27 03-21-2013 05:10 PM
9.06/Mountain Lion Update Issue DBboy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 11 01-21-2013 07:22 PM
Pro Tools 9.0.6 on Mountain Lion Issue leobaker Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 10-21-2012 05:44 AM
Help! Mountain Lion PT10 plugin menu issue giltzer14 Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 08-29-2012 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com