Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2013, 10:18 AM
tal213 tal213 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: La CA
Posts: 8
Default Hard drive configuration: some help please..

i have three barracuda 7200 1TB hard drives, and need some help configuring them for PT10.

on drive#1 i already have my OS,(Windows7) PT10, and my programs=Superior Drummer, Kontakt 5 and libraries, UAD2, Amplitube and stuff like that.

drive#2 i use a different DAW Sonar X2 set up the same, but everything is 64bit.

drive#3 is blank. drive#4 (external) blank

i have read many times folks have their audio, projects/sessions, and samples on seperate drives. i'm confused as to what goes where and why and how. Can anyone shed some light or post a link, that would get me in the right direction?

thanx tal213.
__________________
Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
Asus Sabertooth X79
Windows 7 HP 64 16 GB
3 1TB Barracuda 7200
Ap 24/96 Tascam M-164
UAD-2 Sonar X2PE ProTools 10.1.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:44 AM
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 143
Default Re: Hard drive configuration: some help please..

Pro Tools wants to be on the system drive...you already have that it looks like.

Pro Tools DOES NOT like to record to the drive that it is on. In other words, do not record to the system drive.

Use one of your other 7200 or 10000 RPM drives as your audio drive, your workspace as it were. When recording you do a lot of writing to the drive. The higher RPM is essential to get the audio data written. If you try to record to the system drive, you will trip all over the other writes and reads occurring in the program that is running. Kind of simplistic, but in essence, that is what is happening.

You can store loops on other drives, such as your external drive or even on your system drive if you wish....not most efficient but it does work.

That help?
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
M-Audio Black Box - Pro Tools MP and LE 8.0.5 - 003 Rack + Factory - Pro Tools 9 .0.6 - Pro Tools 10.3.7/11.0.2 - Eleven Rack ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2013, 02:57 PM
tal213 tal213 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: La CA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Hard drive configuration: some help please..

thanx fella's for responding. i am researching as we speak, on this whole Disk Allocation stuff. i would still like to hear how others have their drives setup and which way they have found to be best. so chime in with your thoughts and know-how. tal213..
__________________
Intel i7 3820 3.6GHz
Asus Sabertooth X79
Windows 7 HP 64 16 GB
3 1TB Barracuda 7200
Ap 24/96 Tascam M-164
UAD-2 Sonar X2PE ProTools 10.1.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best possible hard drive configuration Whasssaaahhh Pro Tools Software (Mac) 25 01-01-2011 05:11 PM
Hard drive configuration fat_fish Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-10-2006 06:45 AM
Hard drive configuration fat_fish Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-09-2006 05:04 PM
? on hard drive configuration deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-07-2005 07:12 PM
Hard Drive Configuration souelle Storage Subsystems 0 02-12-2003 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com