Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:49 AM
StratMan04 StratMan04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WV - USA
Posts: 6
Default Remove a guitar track from a recording?

Does anyone know if it is possible (using Pro Tools 10) to remove a guitar track from a recorded song for the purposes of practice? I am a noob, so I apologize if this is a "simple-minded" question.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:38 AM
deafguy deafguy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Boston
Posts: 175
Default Re: Remove a guitar track from a recording?

Yeah we used to be able to do that with PT 3 then they took away the feature.
I think the record companies threw their weight around when this started to happen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_M9zWORBuA
__________________
the PC: Jetway JNAF93 Q77| Intel i7 3770K | XFX 5750 Video | Win7-64Pro | 16 gb ram
the ProTools: HD4 Accel PT10.3 | 192, AD16X, AD8kSE, DAC-1 | Procontrol
the Rest: Eleven Rack | Metric Halo UNL-8 | Macbook Pro | Mbox Pro | PTHD11
|
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:19 AM
PT Lover's Avatar
PT Lover PT Lover is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 5,504
Default Re: Remove a guitar track from a recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StratMan04 View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible (using Pro Tools 10) to remove a guitar track from a recorded song for the purposes of practice? I am a noob, so I apologize if this is a "simple-minded" question.
No, you can not. Virtually any mix nowadays is too "complicated & intertwined" to extract or remove anything without ruining the mix completely.

Analogy, you ask? Sure...

You buy a freshly baked bread. It tastes yummy. Now... remove the yeast...
__________________
Stig Eliassen
---------------
Pro Tools|HDX 10.3.9/11.2.1 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | 10.8.5 | D-Command ES | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Pro Tools|HD 11.2.1 | iMac 12,1 w/12GB RAM | 10.9.4 | Eleven Rack
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:46 AM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 414
Default Re: Remove a guitar track from a recording?

Put the two channels out of phase to cancel the middle if the solo is recorded in the middle. Mess around with stereo width, the Air plug in.
I used a Waves plug called center that did a fantastic job of wiping out the center like karaoke but it still sounded pretty full. This was a 90s recording too. If you really want to get geeky. There are a few spectral progams that will allow you to quiet down the guitar parts but like PT said, it will take other sounds out. I was able to kill the vocal to the Beatles Michelle without too much damage. It was only in one channel so I couldn't phase it out but because the vocal was mixed so loud, I was able to easily see it as a bright yellow spectral blob and remove it but it took a few hours because I had to learn it and get the job done that day.
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio-Major Minor
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Maverick
16GB PT10.3.9 HD
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove the drums and guitar from a song ? KGB2011 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-14-2010 03:45 AM
Problems recording Guitar In PT 8 with Fast Track Ultra smdrumz Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 11-30-2009 07:23 PM
Recording guitar track po11utionX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-12-2004 01:26 AM
Best way to remove noise/hum between notes in guitar track? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 04-04-2003 06:16 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com