Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid @ NAMM 2018

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-01-2013, 01:30 PM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 493
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

As always thanks for the input Dave; personally I really appreciate and value the input you and the rest of the Avid gurus put in this community. I know we are the customers here (and the "Customer is always right") and I know the restrictions of a public company therefore the input (even if sometimes vague) is that much more appreciated.

As an HDX2 owner I can only hope that your managemet will steer the boat in the right direction...for me - and me alone - 64bit PT will hopefully be a dream come true as I use many VIs and I hope that I will be able to do ALL my work in PT11 alone without the need to use VEP or ReWire or whatnot. If you guys achieve this goal than you will have convinced me for the next decade... :)

Best of luck to the Avid Pro Audio team (or whatever you guys are called these days, hehe).
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO (2009), 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x, HDX2, PT12.6.0 HD, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v8.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.9.x, PT12.6.0 HD, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v8.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-01-2013, 02:07 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,692
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveTremblay View Post
I talk to a lot of plug-in developers including Sonnox, McDSP, and Audioease. I have never received feedback that AAX-DSP is more difficult than TDM development. Quite the contrary. We've already talked about the reasons for limited instance counts of McDSP and Sonnox, so no need to rehash it here. That limitation was our issue, not the plug-in developers. As to Audioease, I imagine the effort to create a TDM version of Altiverb was herculean. I can't speak for them, but I imagine the AAX-DSP version will be quite a bit simpler.

And Marsdy, I know I've talked about a lot of these other points you're making as well. I think I haven't, or we haven't, done the best job of explaining why we would continue to make DSP accelerated hardware. Platform transitions are difficult, there is no doubt about that, but we think it's worth investing in the future. We could no longer make TDM systems due to variety of hardware issues, but we still strongly feel that there is value to embedded DSP resources in a DAW environment. Let me talk a bit about why...

1) Integrated DSP Systems have lower latency. No matter how much power is in the Intel cores, they still can't run effectively below a 64 sample buffer, and even that is pushing the limits of reliability. With converter latency, that probably ends up around 7-10mS of latency. For some people, that is plenty low enough, but certainly not for everyone. No matter how powerful those Intel chips get, you likely won't be able to push this much lower due to the OS. With a dedicated real-time OS, you can get lower, but still not as low as our HD and HDX cards which mix in a single sample buffer. You simply can't get better than that. And the "simplicity" of the TI DSP chips lends itself well to this type of situation. Intel does not.

2) Integrated DSP Systems have higher determinism. Again, the "simplicity" of the TI DSP chips is an advantage here. The chips run our own real-time OS and have near perfect predictability for processing. This means that we know, with absolute certainty, that the engine on the DSPs can operate without hiccups. We also know, in advance, whether a DSP based effect can fit on a processor or not. Compare that with Native, where you add another effect, it throws errors and you either remove it or go into the hardware settings dialogs to tweak buffer size. You absolutely cannot get this with a Native DAW. Even if you installed a hard real-time OS, you wouldn't have the same level of predictability. You're playing the odds. For some customers, this is a fine tradeoff, for many it is not.

No matter how powerful the Intel processors are, they two reasons above make the DSP resources unique. And that uniqueness is what makes them interesting. Sure, they do add power to your system which many customers appreciate, but don't overlook these other advantages.

The way I see it, it's our job to do whatever it takes to give you guys the resources to create great music and films. And in my opinion, we are capable of doing that like no other company in the world. We can give you every advantage of a fully Native DAW (run AAX Native plug-ins), and in addition, we can provide you with additional resources that have strengths where native DAWs have weaknesses. In the end, you can combine all of the positive attributes of all of these different resources to make a highly reliable, low latency, high performance DAW.

The ideal DAW combines high-power/higher-latency resources with lower-latency/higher-reliability resources in a SEAMLESS way that gives you the advantages of both.

Dave
I understand McDSP and Sonnox have teething problems. However, it does seem a tad disappointing to the layman that nearly 18 months in they are STILL having issues. Maybe that's impatience on my part.

Without wishing to appear vain, I think my portrayal on the DUC as an HDX "hater" precedes me here.

Regarding the benefits of an Avid dedicated DSP solution. I would be the first to concede the many advantages over native especially in conjunction with the power of native. It is exactly those benefits why I use an HD3 system and would LIKE to buy an HDX system. The key disincentive to upgrading is what I and others are seeing as a major shortfall in the numbers of HDX plug-ins compared to TDM. An HDX upgrade would literally be like ripping out half the outboard gear in my studio in effect. That is simply untenable for me at present and to be blunt, I see no sign of the situation improving. In other words, I have far more too lose upgrading to HDX than sticking with HD3, much as I'd like the extra voice count and increased headroom.

You mention it is your job to do whatever it takes to give us the resources to create great music and film. Surely Avid must be aware that the current shortfall in HDX plug-ins is a massive deterrent to the widespread adoption of HDX?
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-01-2013, 02:26 PM
DaveTremblay DaveTremblay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I understand McDSP and Sonnox have teething problems. However, it does seem a tad disappointing to the layman that nearly 18 months in they are STILL having issues. Maybe that's impatience on my part.
To be honest, this was our issue, not theirs. And they were quite aware of that. We just have a lot of irons in the fire right now with AAX and other development work. And I don't think you're impatient, that is a long time to wait. But please don't misconstrue that delay with there being a difficulty in porting to AAX-DSP or the DSPs lacking power due to instance counts of these plug-ins. We just didn't foresee the way that some plug-in would choose to use the chips and we had some limitations built in that we never thought anyone would hit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
You mention it is your job to do whatever it takes to give us the resources to create great music and film. Surely Avid must be aware that the current shortfall in HDX plug-ins is a massive deterrent to the widespread adoption of HDX?
That is why I spend a large part of every single day talking with plug-in developers. We have a dedicated developer forum for plug-in developers that I and many other senior engineers patrol every day, and night. We also handle issues via email, phone, Skype, you name it. In those discussions, there are a number of companies that aren't interested in doing DSP development. It is much easier to just write a Native wrapper once to package up all of your plug-ins than it is to actually port every one of your plug-ins to AAX-DSP. But there are also a surprising number of companies that are interested. These transitions take time, and we've done the mother of all transitions mashing HDX and 64 bit into a bigger transition, but we think it was the right thing to do.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-01-2013, 02:30 PM
DaveTremblay DaveTremblay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 191
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oblivion777 View Post
As always thanks for the input Dave; personally I really appreciate and value the input you and the rest of the Avid gurus put in this community. I know we are the customers here (and the "Customer is always right") and I know the restrictions of a public company therefore the input (even if sometimes vague) is that much more appreciated.
Fortunately, most of us developers are also Pro Tools customers, so we get to be right sometimes too.

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-21-2015, 06:13 PM
Wall2Wall Wall2Wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Starling City
Posts: 765
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Any update on this?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-22-2015, 09:38 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,002
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Plus a thousand.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-10-2018, 02:33 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ca
Posts: 434
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall2Wall View Post
Any update on this?
Just checking in to see if there's any update on this?

Is Altiverb XL able to use HDX DSP?
__________________
-Mac Pro 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g OS 10.10.5
-OSX 10.8.5
-PTHDN 11.3.2 & PTHDN 10.3.8
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro
-Waves Mercury + SSL 4000 Collection
-iZotope RX5 Advanced
-Ozone 3
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-10-2018, 03:19 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,108
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
If writing for AAX dsp is so difficult how can a one man shop like McDSP be coming out with their AAX stuff so quickly? Altiverb is dragging their feet just like they always do. At least, as you say, it's a good sign they are at least working on AAX native.
Agreed. I remember how LONG.. It took them to come out with Altiverb 7. It was like a couple of years or maybe less to get that done after they announced it online at one of the trade shows. Love the stuff, but I am using other verbs now as much. Eventide, TC Electronics. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 12.8.3 HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Sierra 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-10-2018, 10:07 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,002
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Unfortunately most of us are using other solutions to the problem of not enough DSP plugins being available. One of the many so called solutions is to keep using a TDM system with Pro Tools 10. Not as good as the promises that were made about an HDX system being great but still better than trying to use an HDX system to get record production done. But hey, who really cares about music Pros these days anyway. Certainly not the DAW or Plugin creating community. End of rant.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-11-2018, 08:47 AM
Keith Robichaux's Avatar
Keith Robichaux Keith Robichaux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 65
Default Re: Altiverb 7 and AAX-DSP

Post if anyone as the XL (DSP) version for sale. Thanks
__________________
Mac 5.1,PT10HD, 192's, SSL 4040G+
keithrobichaux.com
@keith_robichaux -Twitter,Instagram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altiverb 7 Regular & Altiverb 7 XL for sale Milamber Buy & Sell 4 02-20-2014 08:24 AM
Altiverb AAX64 ? Altiverb->DDMF metaplugin Paul Turpin AAX Plug-ins 5 11-22-2013 02:59 PM
Altiverb 7 JMDNYC Post - Surround - Video 7 01-21-2010 07:39 AM
Altiverb 5.0.5 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-04-2005 04:26 AM
Altiverb 5 Fokke van Saane Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 04-04-2005 11:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com