Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:10 AM
fonzi fonzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Hi,

I recently purchased an iMac and am interested in setting up my MBox Pro to work with it. I had forgotten that the MBox Pro only supports FireWire (not USB) and my iMac only has USB and Thunderbolt connections. I noticed that Apple does sell a Thunderbolt to FireWire adapter (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD...rewire-adapter), however some of the customer reviews are complaining that the adapter slows down the connection speed.

My question: has anyone successfully used this adapter with their MBox Pro? Has it worked out? Do you have any other recommendations for the best/most performant way to connect the MBox Pro to an iMac?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2013, 09:22 AM
Northwood Northwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

I bought a Late 2012 iMac and MBox 3 Pro assuming the Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter would connect the two. The MBox came with what I will describe as an 'old style' not-mini Firewire cable and an Adapter labeled 'IEEE1394', which converted the male Firewire connector to a 'new-style' not-mini male Firewire connector, which fits into the Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire Adapter.

The MBox application, nor Pro Tools on OSX does not recognize the hardware as connected.

I have double checked the connections and tried both Firewire ports on the back of the MBox 3 Pro and tried both of the Thunderbolt ports on the back of the iMac.

I have tried booting with the wires connected and MBox on and with MBox off and turned on after boot and with wire disconnected until after boot.

Has anyone gotten this configuration to work?
If not, are there any suggestions other than replacing my iMac with one containing a native Firewire port or replacing the MBox 3 Pro with a audio interface that supports Thunderbolt or USB 3?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2013, 11:20 AM
emilano emilano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 488
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

It works great for me!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2013, 11:50 AM
Bruce Paine's Avatar
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Community Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Works for me as well with a mid-2011 iMac and Mbox 3 Pro. Did you install the latest Mbox Pro drivers?
www.avid.com/drivers
__________________
Bruce Paine
Community Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
apacforums@gmail.com
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:07 PM
djlessthan djlessthan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: tokyo..
Posts: 6
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

I'm also curious about this...anyone else have any luck?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-25-2013, 03:32 PM
herman_hdz herman_hdz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MEXICO
Posts: 11
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Sorry guys, I have a similar issue , and some people recommends me to buy this adapter, so based on your experience think that my OSX Mountain Lion can recognize my MBOX Pro3 connected through the adapter Thunderbolt to FireWire instead of my integrated FW port in my Imac 2009 with 10.8.2 and using the last drivers available for Mountain Lion Release: 1.1.3 (Oct 30, 2012)??

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2013, 08:11 AM
Northwood Northwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Bruce,
are you using a Thunderbolt adapter to connect to the MBox 3 Pro?

I have the latest drivers from http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ownload+driver
Driver 1.1.4 Oct 30, 2012

There is an MBox process (that contains an image of an MBox 3). The Update button takes me to the above driver page.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2013, 11:46 AM
tr0n tr0n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Space
Posts: 1
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

realize this thread is fairly old...however anyone using any of the new iMacs, MacBook Pro (Retinas), etc with FireWire only devices from AVID.

The FireWire to Thunderbolt adapter works great..my one additional suggestion is to get a FireWire 400-to-FireWire800 Cable and not use the adapter, multiple adapters have spelled out bad in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2013, 10:32 AM
Northwood Northwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Sorry I didn't update on this issue:

I bought a FireWire 400-to-FireWire800 Cable to use with the Apple Thunderbolt Adapter and reinstalled the MBox Pro 3 drivers and the MBox Pro app could recognize the hardware.

In PT > Setup > Playback Engine, I could set to MBox and get the analog and MIDI INs and OUTs available in PT.

Thanks all.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2013, 03:09 PM
pitchie pitchie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 13
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Ever since buying my new iMac, it frequently (often daily) crashes when it comes out of sleep with the MBox 2 Pro connected, using the Thunderbolt to FW adaptor (obviously, since it's the only way to connect the two devices). When I'm up and running, things are fine! I have tried everything, including updating drivers and the Mac OS to 10.8.4... I'm using Pro Tools 9 but that doesn't really matter, as I don't have to be using Pro Tools to experience this crash. I'm going out of my mind here, having searched for an answer all this year!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC adapter for Mbox Pro 3 Firewire Billiam1959 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 08-28-2013 12:28 PM
Thunderbolt drive with MBox Pro (firewire 400) KingTor Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 11-13-2012 05:18 AM
Apple $29 Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter now available nst7 Pro Tools 10 Discussion 1 08-01-2012 07:38 AM
Mbox 2 Pro - Firewire or power adapter? ffernandes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-06-2010 08:29 AM
MBox Pro 2 - run w/ firewire only or with adapter Freis968 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-14-2007 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com