Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2012, 04:00 PM
elsanto elsanto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Quito
Posts: 6
Default Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

I´ve heard that Pro Tools 10 is full compatible with another audio interfaces that not necessary are from M-Audio label or Avid... Is that true??? I already bought my Pro Tools 10 and the Fast Track C600, but I´m looking for the Alesis Multimix 16 Usb 2.0 for my home studio, but I´m not sure if I should buy it because I don´t know if they will work ok together, or I will have some problems with the audio route, the buses return, etc... Does anyone can help me with this question please?... (Sorry About my english, I´m trying to do my best)... Greettings from Ecuador!!! and Thank you all!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2012, 04:09 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,906
Default Re: Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

Yes, you can use any 3rd party interface.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2012, 07:38 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

That is ASIO or Core Audio compliant.

Cheers,
__________________
Bruce Hayward
info@brucehayward.com
www.brucehayward.com
Health IS Wealth
Every day's a new adventure
I had a handle on life...but it broke
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2012, 07:42 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 8,906
Default Re: Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

I was going to mention that, but, are there any interfaces on the planet that are not compliant with those two standards?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2012, 08:14 PM
klyg klyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: taipei
Posts: 132
Default Re: Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
I was going to mention that, but, are there any interfaces on the planet that are not compliant with those two standards?
PC side, Not all interfaces (or soundcards) is able to handle Asio drivers
Even it does, it's not wise to use them for PT (ex: you can use your internal PC / laptop sound card with asio4all driver) but there is too much latencies.

you should look at ASIO compatible interfaces chez :
RME (i have FF400, UFX but expensive)
MOTU
APOGEE (MAC ONLY !)
PRESONUS

etc....

Mac side, if your interface have osx core audio drivers, it should be ok.


It all depends on your budget...
__________________
Cheers !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:03 PM
elsanto elsanto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Quito
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro tools 10 is compatible with multiple audio interfaces?

Thank you all brothers, nice answers too, you are helping me a lot. Now I´m motivated to purchase the Alesis Multimix!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QuickTime Player is not currently compatible with Avid Audio Interfaces on Mac OS X 1 gives Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 10-17-2012 04:31 PM
Multiple audio interfaces? nob turner Pro Tools 9 Discussion 6 11-10-2010 01:58 AM
Which M-Audio Interfaces are compatible? bilco Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 6 01-07-2010 01:19 AM
Multiple Audio Interfaces w0mbatb0y 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-28-2007 08:48 PM
Multiple M-Audio Interfaces kbruff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-12-2006 03:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com