Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2012, 10:09 AM
SirGoP SirGoP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Default Pro Tools MP9 software download

I bought a USB sound card, MobilePre, and there were a bunch of software discs in the box. My DVD-RW doesn't work anymore, new mobo didn't have an IDE input, so it's just disconnected now.

Since I can't install Pro Tools from the disc I was wondering if there's a simple way of downloading it, maybe with some serial number that came with the disc?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:07 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,297
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

You should be able to log into your Avid account and download it from there.
__________________
Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R Motherboard
i7 920 Quad-Core Processor O/C 3.7 GHz
12GB OCZ DDR3 RAM
Kingwin ABT-650MM 650W Power Supply
COOLER MASTER V8
HIS Radeon HD 4650 512MB 128-bit PCI Express Video Card
Sileo 500 Silent Computer Case
Pro Tools HD 10.3.9 & Pro Tools HD 11.2.1
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
MacBookPro I7 / Mavericks
Event 2030/2020 Active Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2012, 03:46 AM
SirGoP SirGoP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

There was also a USB flash drive in the box, it says "Pro Tools MP 9" on it, so I figured that's another copy of the software, but windows couldn't install the drivers for it so it never booted.

Also I've registered the software on my new account at Avid.com but I haven't been able to find out how to get ahold of an activation key yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2012, 03:52 AM
SirGoP SirGoP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

wait... was that a key of some sorts?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2012, 04:21 AM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,162
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirGoP View Post
There was also a USB flash drive in the box, it says "Pro Tools MP 9" on it, so I figured that's another copy of the software, but windows couldn't install the drivers for it so it never booted.

Also I've registered the software on my new account at Avid.com but I haven't been able to find out how to get ahold of an activation key yet.
No, the USB key is the iLok needed for authorizing Pro Tools.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2014, 10:27 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,196
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
You should be able to log into your Avid account and download it from there.
Avid never did this for MP9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2014, 12:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 27,261
Default Re: Pro Tools MP9 software download

Ah yes, welcome to the learning experience The USB key is indeed an iLok. You need to go to iLok.com and create an account(its free) and then register the iLok to you account. The iLok MUST be plugged into the computer, whenever you want to run Pro Tools. As for having no CD/DVD drive, I suggest buying a USB optical drive(CD's and DVD's are not dead yet, and archiving to DVD-R is a good way to back up your sessions....you DO back up your sessions, don't you?)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, HD/Native, HD IO, 192 IO, PT10HD, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Focusrite and Midas..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I download a previous version of pro Tools Software? Exilio Pro Tools Software (Win) 12 01-21-2014 11:24 AM
Download Pro Tools M-Powered 8 software again? Bill0287 Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 07-01-2013 08:20 AM
Pro tools 10 DOWNLOAD/not ship software? jontah Pro Tools 11 Discussion 4 04-13-2013 01:00 PM
Pro Tools SE DISC/ software download? bobbystewart442 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 01-25-2013 09:20 AM
Pro Tools Le 7.3 DAW Software Download SVH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-15-2010 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com