Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:10 PM
MediaBCD MediaBCD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: around the 45th parallels
Posts: 10
Default Windows optimization?!?

I was checking the new optimization for W7 and found that it was a lot shorter than the optimization for XP was. Should I also do the steps that are in the one for XP that can be done on win7?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:32 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 6,525
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

Depends on how it runs....I think i did most of those XP steps on my WIN7 machine out of habit....and I didn't have any issues releated to those optimizations....however your milage may vary which would lead me to say......if it's running fine now....i wouldn't mess around with it.
__________________
j.Daniel from Austin Texas

"But I try to live in the now....Where the ghosts of old wrongs do not apply...." Captain Nemo.

PT 10.3.7 - Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56 / Hack PRO 10.8.4 / i7-3930k-16GB Ram - 840Pro SSD 256GB / Behringer X32 / Eleven Rack / UA-6176 / UAD2-Quad / Avid Artist Control / AXIOM PRO 49 / and a Springfield XDM-40 to make sure it all stays put.....
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:44 PM
luciancazacu luciancazacu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zaragoza, Spain
Posts: 4
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

Hi MediaBCD! Follow this link and the other 8 created by avid for windows 7: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k86R-QQ1s40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2012, 12:47 PM
luciancazacu luciancazacu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Zaragoza, Spain
Posts: 4
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

Hi! Follow this link and the other 8 created by avid for windows 7: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k86R-QQ1s40
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2012, 07:20 AM
GearGuy GearGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

Great resources here as well.... I've been using Sweetwater's support optimization help for years:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...-optimization/



And specifically for Win 7:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...for-windows-7/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2012, 07:23 AM
GearGuy GearGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

I've been using Sweetwater's optimization support for years.... they have always been a great resource, all the way back to the Windows XP days:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...-optimization/

And specifically for Windows 7:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...for-windows-7/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2012, 01:30 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 11,118
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GearGuy View Post
Great resources here as well.... I've been using Sweetwater's support optimization help for years:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...-optimization/



And specifically for Win 7:

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...for-windows-7/
I would NOT recommend and even promote some of these settings for Pro Tools you just posted. This is best optimization resource for PT and W7(and XP).

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit | W8 RP 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2012, 01:43 PM
MediaBCD MediaBCD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: around the 45th parallels
Posts: 10
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

There's only two different settings in the one of Sweetwaters and the one from Avid. Although I can not tell what impact those two would make.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2012, 05:36 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 11,118
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

There's more than two, and the impact will be DAE errors. Why would one not follow Avid's optimizations and attempt something else is a head scratcher. There's also other advanced settings beyond what Avid has posted, but most of theirs not followed will result in known DAE errors. Pro Tools is a different beast. Following generic audio optimizations that are good for other DAW's is something I wouldn't recommend. The Sweetwater ones are an example of this and they need to update what they posted. Most of the classic Black Viper tweaks will only give gains in more available RAM when it comes to PT. A moot point now that we can run PT in W7 64 with more than 4G of RAM. If you have 8-24G of RAM and Windows takes up 2G, it doesnt really matter anymore. At least PT can use the full 4G that it can in that scenerio plus a ton more for disk cahce.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit | W8 RP 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2012, 08:27 PM
dave911's Avatar
dave911 dave911 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: Windows optimization?!?

I always stick with the Avid recommendations and only for my current OP version.
For W7 they want DEP on (W7 default) used to be Off for XP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Optimization mesaman Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-27-2010 11:39 AM
Protools 8.0.4 not needing optimization to run on windows 7? BassChase Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-10-2010 07:16 AM
windows 7 optimization simon lefisch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-06-2010 05:20 PM
Windows Optimization darkglass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-18-2004 08:17 AM
Windows XP optimization - AMIII card. The Electric Trombone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-10-2002 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com