Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information









Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:33 PM
qtheproducer qtheproducer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Greetings all!

Thank you for reading upon this post.

I am about to build a new music computer and would like to know if these motherboards are compatible with the new mbox 3rd generation and pro tools 9/10?


-1st....Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 1155 ATX (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157265)

-2nd...ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131792)

If these are compatible which one would be better?

I will using the i7 2700k as my processor/cpu and I intend to overclock it at some point. I will have a water cooling solution for the overclocking. I will have an external graphics card as well.

Any advice would be highly appreciated. Thank you so much for your response!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2012, 07:38 PM
NickRyanAudio NickRyanAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by qtheproducer View Post
I am about to build a new music computer
Good luck! Avid products are not friendly with PC's, especially self-build. And they have no plan to patch, update, or offer help in any way besides tell you to "buy a mac"

Be prepared to install, test, return to store, install, test, return to store, repeat for CPU, mobo, graphics card, FW card and more.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2012, 08:33 PM
qtheproducer qtheproducer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRyanAudio View Post
Good luck! Avid products are not friendly with PC's, especially self-build. And they have no plan to patch, update, or offer help in any way besides tell you to "buy a mac"

Be prepared to install, test, return to store, install, test, return to store, repeat for CPU, mobo, graphics card, FW card and more.
Really? I look down upon Avid for not listing more motherboards as compatible on a Windows OS.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2012, 01:00 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,456
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRyanAudio View Post
Good luck! Avid products are not friendly with PC's, especially self-build. And they have no plan to patch, update, or offer help in any way besides tell you to "buy a mac"

Be prepared to install, test, return to store, install, test, return to store, repeat for CPU, mobo, graphics card, FW card and more.
There maybe smoother sailing with a Mac, indeed, but there have been successful PC builts:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=238426
__________________
002R BLA mod, PT LE 8.0.1, MP Toolkit 2,
Intel Quad, 4GB Ram,
System 500GB, Audio 500, Samples 500 SATA, Backup 1TB, Win XP SP3
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 10, Win 7 Pro 64, Asus P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, 2600K at 4.6 GHz, 16 GB Ram, audio PC bundle from scan.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:00 AM
arhall arhall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 90
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRyanAudio View Post
Good luck! Avid products are not friendly with PC's, especially self-build. And they have no plan to patch, update, or offer help in any way besides tell you to "buy a mac"

Be prepared to install, test, return to store, install, test, return to store, repeat for CPU, mobo, graphics card, FW card and more.
I second that!
__________________
Intel i7 2600K, z68 with iGPU, 8Gb, Win7 64, PT11.
TC Impact Twin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:02 AM
Blissful World Blissful World is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 145
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickRyanAudio View Post
Good luck! Avid products are not friendly with PC's, especially self-build. And they have no plan to patch, update, or offer help in any way besides tell you to "buy a mac"

Be prepared to install, test, return to store, install, test, return to store, repeat for CPU, mobo, graphics card, FW card and more.
I'm using an Asus P8P67 which is a year old now, but works perfectly well.

1) I've emailed Avid support three times in the past weeks since I installed PT10 Win Native and they were polite, professional, and helpful each time.

2) Yeah, PT is picky about PC parts, but it's not near that dire if you do your homework. I could tell my video card seemed a little off, so I replaced it myself before installing.

3) There's nothing wrong with being a copycat if you copy the right cat. Just copy a working configuration. It's not brain surgery.

4) The company has been nothing if not industrious at incorporating all sorts of improvements into the software. It doesn't matter if other DAWs already had them. This contradicts your statement the company sits around uncaring, doing nothing all day.

5) If a Mac was the last computer on earth I would never buy one because of the company's history of insulting ads trying to get the point across that Mac-heads are hip and elite and PC-heads are dullards with zero personality.

It is true the Avid PC component recommendations are an outdated joke. It is also true that I have more PC experience than most people. But I am hardly a PC tech all day and haven't run a DAW in many years. My system is rock solid. It is rock solid because I accepted the fact the component bar would be raised if I went with Avid and just worked through a couple of imcompatabiliites without feeling like I'd been singled out for persecution.

Alternatively, I could have paid four times as much for a gleaming new Mac Pro than what I paid for a used but modern PC system. No, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:48 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 26,840
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Intel i7 9xx (socket 1366) on an X58 motherboard is proven solid and reliable. SandyBridge E(socket 2011) on an X79 motherboard looks really promising(a few builds are up and running with excellent results). There are simply too many options and combinations for any company to test them all. Apple makes a handful so it doesn't take long to test and verify those.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EX58A-UD3R, Intel i7 950, 12 gig Corsair DDR3, PNY GeForce 210, Focusrite ISA428, Octopre Mk II Dynamic, Lucid GenX192, DIGI003 running PT10HD, Vintech and Five Fish preamps..............................
http://www.myspace.com/cswstudio
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The cool thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to do everything. The bad thing about digital is; there's 4 ways to...........

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:51 AM
HKnight HKnight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 24
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blissful World View Post
5) If a Mac was the last computer on earth I would never buy one because of the company's history of insulting ads trying to get the point across that Mac-heads are hip and elite and PC-heads are dullards with zero personality.

Alternatively, I could have paid four times as much for a gleaming new Mac Pro than what I paid for a used but modern PC system. No, thanks!
Couldn't have said it any better! F**k a mac. Its nothing more than an expensive fisher price and Id much rather have a tonka. :)))
__________________
Corsair 800D Case w/750w corsair psu
Asus P6X58D-E
Intel Pentium I7 - 930
NVidia GTX 650 2GB DDR5
12GB OCZ DDR3 Ram
1 - 128gb Samsung SSD
3 - 2TB Seagate 7200rpm harddrives
Phillips Bluray 12x burner
Mbox 3 Pro w/ProTools 10.3.9
Windows 8.1 64Bit Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:58 AM
NickRyanAudio NickRyanAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blissful World View Post
It is true the Avid PC component recommendations are an outdated joke. It is also true that I have more PC experience than most people. But I am hardly a PC tech all day and haven't run a DAW in many years. My system is rock solid. It is rock solid because I accepted the fact the component bar would be raised if I went with Avid and just worked through a couple of imcompatabiliites without feeling like I'd been singled out for persecution.
First, how did you find an e-mail address for support? I've been searching all over the site and everything points to buying a support ticket.

And yes, the company did make improvements constantly to the software and does a few things other DAWs can't. But they DON'T do anything for improving the software on PCs, or even care about comparability. So, in lieu of persecution, they shun the thought of an Avid user owning a PC and do business accordingly.

"Buy a Mac" is not a good solution for PC technical support. And that's what's happening
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:13 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Riverview, MI & St Paul, MN
Posts: 1,148
Default Re: Pro Tools Motherboard compatibility...New computer being built

Albee has given some very good advice. I have a PC and it is rock solid with PT. If you think Macs are magic, read the Mac threads and you'll see there are problems they encounter too.

As a general rule, do research, build what has been successful or buy what has been successful, follow the recommendations for how to tune up your computer for PT (Mac or PC), and be careful about what other software and hardware you add beyond what you need to run PT.

Good Luck,
Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 640 video card, a Samsung 840 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 WD Black 32MB cache 500GB Hard Drives in externally mounted drive bays for session storage, Win 8 Pro, PTHDN 10/11.1.3, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Computer Built ejwells 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 02-05-2012 07:13 PM
Need DDR3 Motherboard Built in Firewire Whom Have Had Success With SamuelAdams 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-23-2010 08:40 AM
PC Motherboard compatibility with Pro Tools M-Powered 8 redyetistudio Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 10-25-2009 04:17 AM
Pro Tools Free Computer Compatibility mp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-26-2001 11:25 PM
Pro Tools Free Computer Compatibility mp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-25-2001 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com