Avid Pro Audio Community

Pro Tools 11 Information

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Troubleshooting, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!

Avid at NAB 2014








Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2003, 09:48 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,740
Default Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

Clicks at the very beginning of PT sessions

Hi folks!
Sometimes I get clicks in the very beginning of sessions. Even when quick punch is not enabled and when I am just playing back the session from time ZERO.

Yes, no problems with clock neither HD fragmentataion.

Based on this issue, please take a look the following quote I have just extracted from EQ forum, basically a thread bashing PT but with this amazing info from IZ President. Nika, are you there?

Sorry if this has already been posted on here. ( probably MM, T...)

Here it goes: [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]

Summary/Conclusion:
1) You must use Auto-Fade to avoid pops and clicks in your audio.
2) Auto-fade crossfade soundfiles are NOT written to the disk and are therefore NOT part of the audio.
3) If you lose your auto-fade values you will get pops and clicks.
4) The maximum auto-fade crossfade length is limited to 10 ms so if you want long crossfades on edits or punches your going to have to do them manually.
5) If you have alot of edits in a small region the DSP will have to do all of the crossfades of several audio files to one track in real time during playback. If there are multiple tracks it may mean that for short periods of time(during the crossfades) you have way more files being played/faded than the system can handle and you will get DSP error messages in addition to pops and clicks

Just to confirm, I also had Bill Heath go down to OmniSound today in Nashville and try this out on their ProTools system. Protools does indeed generate pops and clicks when Auto-fade is off and when it is on there are no crossfade sound files in the audio folder - only fade files in the Session so transferrring these files to another manufacturer's system would yeild pops and clicks unless you do a bounce.

--------------------
Barry, iZ President
www.izcorp.com


__________________
Eng. Alécio Costa
Producer/Singer/Musician
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel -8.1.1 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon & Sebatron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:08 PM
strunz0 strunz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Boston/New York
Posts: 104
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

isnt this a play back buffer issue?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:25 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,740
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

I don´t think so. Everything is solid on here. BTW.. PT TDM 5.1.1/OS 9.2.
[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel -8.1.1 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon & Sebatron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:29 PM
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 782
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

Alicio,

How goes the battle?


G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer
http://www.gregives.com
http://pro.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/
NonProIMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/

Protools 10.3.8 HD/MOTU DP 8.0.5/ Logic 9.1.7
Mac Pro 8 Core Tower 2X 3GHZ Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OS 10.8.5 24GB of RAM Avid HD IO w/HD2Accel MACBOOK PRO Thuderbolt 17" i7 chip. Protools 11.1.2HD Native/ Mavericks 10.9.1 Eleven Rack + ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:31 PM
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 782
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

Ale'cio, I mean
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer
http://www.gregives.com
http://pro.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/
NonProIMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/

Protools 10.3.8 HD/MOTU DP 8.0.5/ Logic 9.1.7
Mac Pro 8 Core Tower 2X 3GHZ Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OS 10.8.5 24GB of RAM Avid HD IO w/HD2Accel MACBOOK PRO Thuderbolt 17" i7 chip. Protools 11.1.2HD Native/ Mavericks 10.9.1 Eleven Rack + ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:33 PM
gives gives is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 782
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

Alicio,

How goes the battle?


G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer
http://www.gregives.com
http://pro.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/
NonProIMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/

Protools 10.3.8 HD/MOTU DP 8.0.5/ Logic 9.1.7
Mac Pro 8 Core Tower 2X 3GHZ Quad-Core Intel Xeon, OS 10.8.5 24GB of RAM Avid HD IO w/HD2Accel MACBOOK PRO Thuderbolt 17" i7 chip. Protools 11.1.2HD Native/ Mavericks 10.9.1 Eleven Rack + ERXP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:37 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,740
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

HI friend! I think I did not get the joke!lol
Alécio
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel -8.1.1 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon & Sebatron
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:00 AM
lg lg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

Hey I had that problem myself, and it was always 1 of 2 problems.1 it was my hd that needed a defrag or that there was a problem with a freqency value
on a track that I had an eq insert on.What I suggest that you do is to isolate the track thats giving you the pop or click and remove all insersts on that track and you will see what Im talking about. I hope this helps

LG
__________________
Where there's a will.. there's a way
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:12 AM
s2n s2n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 853
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

It could be a few things:
1) HD fragmentation
2) slow HD
3) voice-allocation
4) DAE buffer's set incorrectly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:15 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,740
Default Re: Clicks at the very beginning of sessions> Playback and Recording

s2n... none to your suggestions. Thanks Anyway

I don´t think it is a problem with freq settings also because the little click is before any audio starts playing and HDS are properly defragged. This is soemthing happens from time to time, not every day.
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End E-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel -8.1.1 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum, Crane, Avalon & Sebatron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicks in Pro Tools during recording and playback DanielWiklander 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-03-2011 12:01 PM
Clicks and pops during playback and recording. mohoman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-16-2011 04:49 PM
What's with the big grey rectangle at the beginning of all sessions? The Egg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 05-01-2009 10:45 PM
Help! Clicks and Pops During Recording / Playback kurkomat Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 11-14-2006 08:10 AM
horrendous clicks & pops being introduced by playback of strongly edited sessions Hans Mues Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-31-2001 03:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com