Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2012, 10:31 AM
Sears Sears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Hello all who can help.

I recently purchased a Pro Tools 9 + Mbox mini bundle with free PT 10 upgrade. Everything was working fine until today. When i try to boot up Pro Tools 10 it says it is unable to locate hardware. I've tried placing plug-ins in the unused folder, tried reinstalling device drivers, changing the USB slots and reinstalling PT 10. But whatever i do it won't recognise my Mbox, everything else on my PC does. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2012, 10:54 AM
Sears Sears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Okay, i uninstalled PT 10 and installed PT 9 and it still can't find my Mbox. I really need to get it working. Thanks for any help anybody can give.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 11:41 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,590
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

I'd start with trying a different USB cable. Next is to hold down the "N" key when Protools starts to see if you can select the Mbox Mini. Double check to make sure you did not load the wrong driver. "Mbox2 Family" as opposed to "Mbox3Mini" if I remember.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Mac Pro (8 Core) - OSX 10.8.5, 15" Macbook Pro I7 - OSX 10.8.5
[Test System: 15" Macbook Pro (C2D) - OSX 10.10]
Digi002R, Mbox2Mini, Eleven Rack/ERXP, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
Command|8 Control Surface
Protools 10.3.9 & Protools 11.2.1 Coinstalled, Instrument Expansion Pack, iLok2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:56 PM
Sears Sears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

I unistalled the mbox drivers and installed the latest and that seems to have worked for Pro Tools 9. Once i've finished this current project tomorrow I will reinstall 10 to see if it will work.

Do you press N as soon as you click on pro tools?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2012, 03:21 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,590
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Hold down the "N" key as soon as the Protools splash screen appears until the playback preferences appears.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Mac Pro (8 Core) - OSX 10.8.5, 15" Macbook Pro I7 - OSX 10.8.5
[Test System: 15" Macbook Pro (C2D) - OSX 10.10]
Digi002R, Mbox2Mini, Eleven Rack/ERXP, Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
Command|8 Control Surface
Protools 10.3.9 & Protools 11.2.1 Coinstalled, Instrument Expansion Pack, iLok2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2012, 04:06 AM
Logos572 Logos572 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Hello.
I have exactly the same problem as Sears (setup / sudden, unexplained failure only with Pro Tools) - even happened at exactly the same time!
Have also tried all the above with no joy.

Any further assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2012, 03:50 PM
rotpac rotpac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ortonville
Posts: 2
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Same prob here with mbox 3rd gen/tool 10. Holding "N" does not do anything. It won't let me unistall 10 to reinstall. Tried all those other fixes already....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:17 PM
lleb lleb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Same problem with my mbox pro 3 and pro tools 10............
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-24-2012, 08:34 AM
crispin_glover crispin_glover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 36
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Mbox Pro 3, Pro Tools 10, MacBook Pro, Mac OS X 10.6.8

Can run iTunes through Mbox Pro but can't get Pro Tools to play sound through it. Pro Tools only comes out of my headphone jack or internal speakers (which freaked me out since I just upgraded from PT 7.4 where this was impossible).

Managed to see the 8 Mbox Pro inputs in Pro Tools Hardware Setup after checking the Mbox Pro box under Aggregate I/O in Audio Midi Setup, restared computer and still no luck. I expect that I'll be able to see the Mbox Pro as an option under Hardware Setup, no? Because only aggregate is there now.

My 002 has been running flawlessly in PT 10 on my Mac Pro, is there an Mbox 3 Pro configuration guide somewhere? Surely there's something basic that's being missed.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-24-2012, 08:50 AM
crispin_glover crispin_glover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 36
Default Re: Unable to locate hardware. Mbox mini.

Apparently I need to select the Mbox in setup-->playback engine, which I haven't done yet. I've only been messing with hardware setup and audio-midi setup. I'll report back if this works as it may help others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Express - Windows 8 - Unable to locate Hardware - Mbox Mini protoolsexpress Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 02-15-2014 01:56 AM
MBox Mini UNABLE TO LOCATE HARDWARE Pro Tools Express electropunkboy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 11-18-2013 10:06 PM
PT10/Mbox Mini "Unable to locate hardware..." portrhombus Pro Tools Software (Win) 3 12-21-2012 08:47 AM
Mbox Mini 3 - "Unable to locate hardware" Platy Pro Tools Software (Win) 0 02-06-2012 09:16 AM
Yet ANOTHER Mbox 3 Mini "Unable to Locate Hardware" Wayne_brady 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 06-14-2011 02:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com