Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:41 AM
perfect_crisis perfect_crisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Default Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Hi all,
I recently upgraded from PT 9 to 10 (Native).
Installed everything from scratch:

- fresh Win 7 Home
- Avid Mbox 3 Pro drivers
- Pro Tools 10 + Avid Virtual Instruments
- iLok latest drivers

Downloaded my new license onto my iLok (Pro Tools 10 + 9 bundle) - everything went smooth, rebooted and tried to launch PT.

I was prompted with this message:

Error, missing iLok authorization for "Pro Tools 10".
Please insert the necessary iLok and restart Pro Tools.

Now, iLok is plugged in, it is recognized (light is on), drivers are installed, it shows up when I'm logged in to iLok website, the correct licence is there.
I tried re-installing everything again, this time starting with the iLok drivers before Pro Tools - no luck.
Also tried plugging out the iLok and then plugging it back in before launching PT (advice I found on this forum) - no luck again.
Tried launching PT without the iLok (just to see what happens) - got the exact same message as above.

I've never had any hassle with PT9 or iLok assets on my PC.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

SiSoftware Sandra report.

Computer
Model : HP (Compaq) Presario GV329AA-ABU SR5249UK
Workgroup: WORKGROUP
Host Name: Studio
User: X

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Speed : 2.2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
L1D (1st Level) Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 (2nd Level) Cache : 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : ASUS Leonite2
BIOS : Phoenix Technologies, LTD 5.21 07/27/2007
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : HP 82945G Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 3GB DIMM DDR2
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 333MHz (666MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF12864AY-667E1 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Micron 4HTF6464AY-667E1 512MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF12864AY-667E1 1GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Micron 4HTF6464AY-667E1 512MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon HD 2400 (40 SM4.0 450MHz, 256MB DDR2 1GHz 64-bit, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Hitachi HDT725032VLA380 (320.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache) : 298GB (C:)
Seagate ST31000340AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (D:) (E:) (F:) (G:)
Generic USB SD Reader (USB2) : N/A (O:)
Generic USB CF Reader (USB2) : N/A (P:)
Generic USB SM Reader (USB2) : N/A (Q:)
Generic USB MS Reader (USB2) : N/A (R:)
HL-DT-STDVD-RAM GH22LS30 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (H:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HDT725032VLA380 (320.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 7MB Cache)
LIBRARY (D:) : 294GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000340AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
MATERIALS (E:) : 293GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000340AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
AUDIO (F:) : 195GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000340AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
BIN (G:) : 149GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000340AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Removable Drive (O:) : N/A @ Generic USB SD Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (P:) : N/A @ Generic USB CF Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (Q:) : N/A @ Generic USB SM Reader (USB2)
Removable Drive (R:) : N/A @ Generic USB MS Reader (USB2)
Optical Drive (H:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVD-RAM GH22LS30 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP 82801GH (ICH7DH) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Asus F8000
Audio Device : HP 82801G (ICH7) High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : HP 82801G (ICH7) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : HP 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7) Serial ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : HP 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : HP 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : HP 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : HP 82801G (ICH7) USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : HP FW322/323 IEEE1394 OHCI FireWire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : CutePDF Writer (4000x4000, Colour)

Peripherals

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x86
  #2  
Old 12-04-2011, 01:41 PM
TheJamsh TheJamsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: plymouth uk
Posts: 106
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

I can already tell you what the problem is because I went through all this crap myself.

If you have an e-mail address handy, I can forward you the e-mail I received from PACE which contains a .exe that Avid obviously failed to properly consider. Like everything else they make it seems.

Did I mention that I hate PT10 for the trouble its caused?
  #3  
Old 12-04-2011, 02:18 PM
perfect_crisis perfect_crisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Thanks for your reply, TheJamsh.

I would be greatful if you could forward the email to:
yanqui636[at]gmail.com

Thank you very much.

Is there more trouble you are experiencing with PT10?
  #4  
Old 12-04-2011, 05:00 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: P.R.
Posts: 1,159
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamsh View Post
I can already tell you what the problem is because I went through all this crap myself.

If you have an e-mail address handy, I can forward you the e-mail I received from PACE which contains a .exe that Avid obviously failed to properly consider. Like everything else they make it seems.

Did I mention that I hate PT10 for the trouble its caused?
Hi im having this error.sometimes too can you send me that file too ?
jeam_25(at)hotmail.com

Thanks
__________________
Windows 7 64bit
AMD 64 dual core - 8 gb of Ram
Digi003 mixer - Protools 10\11 bundle
Lynx aurora 8
Avalon 2022 - Octane 8
Uad 2 quad - Waves Gold
McDsp Emerald - Duy Everpack
Tc Powercore Firewire
  #5  
Old 12-05-2011, 12:59 PM
RogeRIbeirO RogeRIbeirO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pombal
Posts: 1
Exclamation Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Hello,

I'm having this same problem since last week

"I was prompted with this message:

Error, missing iLok authorization for "Pro Tools 10".
Please insert the necessary iLok and restart Pro Tools.
Now, iLok is plugged in, it is recognized (light is on), drivers are installed, it shows up when I'm logged in to iLok website, the correct licence is there.
I tried re-installing everything again, this time starting with the iLok drivers before Pro Tools - no luck."


Please help!
My email: rogeribeiro[a]gmail.com
  #6  
Old 12-05-2011, 02:03 PM
perfect_crisis perfect_crisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamsh View Post
If you have an e-mail address handy, I can forward you the e-mail I received from PACE which contains a .exe that Avid obviously failed to properly consider. Like everything else they make it seems.
It would be very kind of you if you could forward that email to us as soon as possible. I just got the reply from Pace support and they said: If a license that is on your iLok is not authorizing the associated software, please contact the software developer of the software you are attempting to use for further information on the use and authorization of their product.

I am just a litle confused now, TheJamsh. How come they've sent you an .exe file, but advised me to contact Avid since it's the exact same problem we're experiencing?
  #7  
Old 12-06-2011, 07:48 AM
perfect_crisis perfect_crisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

This is just getting more ridiculous. Pace washed thier hands off. Avid wants me to pay them for a customer support ticket - WTF? I just paid you 300 bucks for an upgrade!! I installed everything by the book and it doesn't work. Does anyone know how to fix that stupid iLok error?
  #8  
Old 12-06-2011, 10:28 AM
browniespeaks browniespeaks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 781
Default

When you registered ProTools 10 with avid (if you have not done this yet, do it) you will receive a free support code via e-mail. Use that code for your installation problems. No need to pay again.

Sent from my MB200 using Tapatalk
__________________
Clifford Brown III
Brown Audio Solutions & Services
www.brownaudio.com
  #9  
Old 12-06-2011, 10:42 AM
perfect_crisis perfect_crisis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dublin
Posts: 25
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Thanks, 'browniespeaks'. I registered PT 10 the day I bought it, but totally forgot about the complimentary code. Will send the email now. Cheers!
  #10  
Old 12-06-2011, 11:38 AM
RTFM RTFM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 148
Default Re: Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 - PT won't launch

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJamsh View Post
I can already tell you what the problem is because I went through all this crap myself.

If you have an e-mail address handy, I can forward you the e-mail I received from PACE which contains a .exe that Avid obviously failed to properly consider. Like everything else they make it seems.

Did I mention that I hate PT10 for the trouble its caused?
I would be interested in getting this as well. As the 'former DTS' I spent a ton of time looking into this and, in nearly every case, it turned out to be:

1. A bad iLok
2. A bad driver install
3. A problem with the USB port they were using
4. Other software installed causing problems, usually virus protection or OS 'permissions' of varying types.

In every case where we thought we found an iLok that was actually experiencing a true issue we'd get the iLok and it would work perfectly on our test systems.

If PACE was finally able to come up with a good fix for this, I'd really like to know what it is, as this is one mystery that had us stumped.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing iLok authorization for Pro Tools 10 finalcut Pro Tools Software (Win) 13 12-07-2013 12:50 AM
ilok missing authorization for pro tools mp9 Reggie TAE Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 11-15-2012 05:53 PM
error missing ilok authorization for pro tools 10 ProToCall Pro Tools Software (Win) 9 10-13-2012 09:21 AM
error: missing ilok authorization for pro tools 9. please insert the necessary ilok.. weakluv Pro Tools Software (Win) 2 07-07-2011 05:47 PM
missing ilok authorization for pro tools 9 monstaro Pro Tools 9 Discussion 1 03-03-2011 03:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com