Avid Pro Audio Community




Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post | Community Terms of Use | Avid.com Home Page

Google the Forum | Search Knowledge Base | Search Avid.com

Find Support | Support FAQ | Avid Support How To Video Series

Software Updates, Drivers, Manuals, Compatibility, Optimize, Troubleshoot, etc. (Links)

Please post your message once only to the correct forum
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!



Pro Tools 11 Information


Avid at AES Los Angeles 2014





Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:05 PM
JayNocturn JayNocturn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 198
Default PT 9 vs PT 10

"X vs.Y threads (Mac vs. PC, Pro Tools vs. Nuendo, etc.)"

Does that mean that PT 9 vs PT 10 topics are not allowed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:08 PM
AxeDye AxeDye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverside, CA USA
Posts: 259
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

I'd say yes and no. By the rules no but if its more of asking is it enough for $300... still no because I'm sure you could find another thread to help your decision or just read the product page.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:37 PM
Dism's Avatar
Dism Dism is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,163
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayNocturn View Post
"X vs.Y threads (Mac vs. PC, Pro Tools vs. Nuendo, etc.)"

Does that mean that PT 9 vs PT 10 topics are not allowed?
9 vs. 10 is a pointless topic anyway. 10 is no doubt superior in many ways. Whether or not it is right for YOU is the question.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:42 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 13,650
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

PT10 is without a doubt superior to PT9.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom
No.1 on Wish List... Track Freeze

Pro Tools 11.2.2 (11.1.3 for clients) ~HDX~HDN
HD Omni +192 I/O
Intel Hexcore i7, SSD
Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
MOTU 24 I/O W/PCI 424
Outboard, UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2011, 11:07 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,329
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
PT10 is without a doubt superior to PT9.
As one would expect, otherwise why buy it.

But as Dism said "9 vs. 10 is a pointless topic anyway. 10 is no doubt superior in many ways. Whether or not it is right for YOU is the question."
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Evo 512GB
Recording Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
Samples Drive: Samsung SSD 840 Pro 512GB
StorageDrive: 3 x1TB WD Caviar Black 64mb Cache
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2011, 12:04 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

just posted this in another thread. I think the main fearures speak for themselves. The long ADC on native, clip gain, disk cache etc ... but one that isn't mentioned anywhere is the time it takes in 10 to swap between sessions.
Not sure how noticeable this is on average to small sessions but on some of my 'heavy duty DSP projects' is cuts times by 4 or 5.

Swapping between the same sessions that would take me 4 to 5 minutes on 9 (with DSP cache enabled) now only seems to take 30 seconds or so in 10. That alone saves hours by the end of the week.

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2011, 12:13 AM
JayNocturn JayNocturn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 198
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

So 'X vs.Y threads' are allowed sometimes depending on what is being compared?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2011, 02:04 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 32,361
Default Re: PT 9 vs PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayNocturn View Post
So 'X vs.Y threads' are allowed sometimes depending on what is being compared?
I don't see what the problem is comparing Pro Tools 9 to Pro Tools 10.

X vs Y threads that are referred to in the forum terms of use are there for things like Mac vs PC flamewars for example.

Look at the as a sortof 'Parlay' code of conduct. The code would be more sortof what you would call 'guidelines'
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Pro Tools 11 FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com